ABILENE ó The Brownwood Lady Lions cross country teams made it 3-for-3 Saturday as they captured their third consecutive championship to open the season with a first-place effort at the Class 3A and under high school portion of the Bill Libby Invitational, hosted by McMurry University.

The Brownwood Lions also claimed their first team championship, led by Dylan Personís first-place individual time of 16:38.12, as the high school boys teams were not divided by classifications.

The Lady Lions finished with 36 to edge Jim Nedís total of 54, while the Lions garnered 66 points to edge Abilene High.

Following Person for the Lions were Jacob Salazar (9th, 18:04.45), Tristan Stieber (16th, 18:37.71), Adam Tipton (22nd, 18:53.09), Hugo Yebra (25th, 19:20.44) and Quantez Johnson (26th, 19:21.22).

For the Lady Lions, Victoria Hood led the way with a fourth-place time of 13:02.03 trailed by Julianne Hood (6th, 13:03.33), Katy Jacobs (7th, 13:04.83), Tori Burkett (9th, 13:21.38), Ashley Strong (10th, 13:25.8) and Jeane Standridge (12th, 13:40.87).

In JV action, the Lions also finished first ó though Brownwood was the only school with enough runners to qualify as a team.

Competing for the JV Lions were Justin Gomez (2nd, 19:32.04), Matthew Pickard (4th, 20:44.22), Jerrod Arredondo (5th, 20:45.3), Luis Constancia (8th, 21:54.39), Tim Murphy (11th, 22:31.49), Seth Owen (12th, 22:39.57), Carson McAnally (13th, 22:45.35), Alfredo Hernandez (17th, 23:25.23), Albert Nguyen (19th, 23:39.65), Robert Dick (22nd, 24:06.02), Cooper Donathan (23rd, 24:41.49), Danny Romero (28th, 27:29.8), John Tobias (29th, 29:20.42), Xavier Barron (31st, 29:58.79), Juan Maldonado (32nd, 30:47.63) and Justin Osteen (33rd, 31:04.28).

The JV Lady Lions came in third with 52 points, which left them behind Abilene Christian (26) and Odessa Permian (42).

Running for the JV Lady Lions were Jessica Romero (4th, 14:15.05), Ashley Vaccaro (9th, 15:02.21), Alexis Gill (12th, 15:12.8), Laiken Rainey (13th, 15:19.03), Tori Sanchez (14th, 15:25.97), Coraima Rodriguez (23rd, 16:09.95), Caylee Smith (24th, 16:12.01), Leslie Castilaw (26th, 16:14.14), Alexis Mosqueda (30th, 16:35.6), Cherlyn Hogue (33rd, 16:52.49), Jennifer Hinojosa (34th, 17:06.65), Alex Alonzo (35th, 17:08.61) and Hope Bailey (37th, 17:26.13).