Eric Evans handily won re-election to the Brownwood school board in Place 4 Tuesday, garnering nearly as many votes as challengers Stanley Walker Jr. and Brant Baugh combined.

“A good, healthy exercise in democracy,” second-place finisher Walker said, moments before he congratulated Evans as the two men waited out the election at the Adams Street Community Center, where votes were counted.

School board races in Brownwood and May were the only opposed elections in Brown County.

In May, where three seats were up for re-election, incumbent Jeff Phillips won a new term, finishing first in a four-way race with 509 votes (39.86 percent).

Vickie Ratliff finished second with 347 votes (27.17 percent). Mark Hanson won the third seat, receiving 205 votes (16.05 percent). Write-in candidate Wanda “Sissie” Meador finished fourth with 111 votes (9.47 percent).

In the Brownwood school board race, Evans, who has been on the board for five years, received 200 votes 47.96 percent, followed by Walker with 116 votes (27.82 percent) and Baugh with 101 votes (24.22 percent), according to unofficial results from the Brown County Elections Office.

“I’m thrilled that the vote is over … I appreciate the opportunity to have run for the race and be a part of this very Americana thing,” Evans said.

He said he and Walker had just been saying that having three candidates in the race had probably increased voter interest in the school board election. “It really gave us an opportunity to think through why we’re doing what we’re doing,” Evans said.

“I think it’s important that people that are on the school board have purpose … that there’s a reason for them to want to invest their life in the whole part of being on the school board.

Evans said although he’s been on the school board for five years, this was the first election in which he had to run a campaign.

Evans said he wants to see the school board continue the district’s efforts in areas including technology and salaries.

Walker, who served on the school board from 1997 to 2002, said he ran because with so many unopposed school board races, he wanted to give voters a choice.

Both men said they were pleased with how elections officials corrected an earlier error in the list of addresses used to determine eligibility to vote.

Baugh could not be reached for comment.

In unopposed local races:

• 35th Judicial District Judge Steve Ellis, 12,166

• 35th Judicial District Attorney Micheal Murray, 11,968

• County Attorney Shane Britton, 11,935

• Sheriff Bobby Grubbs, 12,056

• County Tax Assessor-Collector Cheryl Nelson, 12,100

• County Commissioner Precinct 1 Gary Worley, 3,537

• County Commissioner Precinct 3 Wayne Shaw, 3,428

• Constable Precinct 1 Bob Beadel, 3,518

• Constable Precinct 2 David Hefner, 2,215

• Constable Precinct 3 Keith Varner, 3,313

• Constable Precinct 4 Jim Byars, 2,869