Like a majority of the copy and paste requests made concerning Facebook’s privacy policy or other guidelines, the latest message circulating everyone’s Facebook feed reads:

“In response to the new Facebook guidelines, I hereby declare that my copyright is attached to all of my personal details, illustrations, comics, paintings, professional photos and videos, etc. (as a result of the Berner Convention). For commercial use of the above my written consent is needed at all times!”

This isn’t the first time a message like this has circulated on Facebook. It was a hoax before and is a hoax now.

Andrew Noyes, a spokesman for Facebook, released the following statement to the media, “We have noticed some statements that suggest otherwise and we wanted to take a moment to remind you of the facts — when you post things like photos to Facebook, we do not own them. Under our terms, you grant Facebook permission to use, distribute and share the things you post, subject to the terms and applicable privacy settings.”

According to Facebook’s statement of rights and responsibilities, users agree to the following when they activate their account:

• Users grant Facebook a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any intellectual property content — like photographs and videos— that is posted on or in connection with Facebook. The license ends when the content or account is deleted. If others have shared the content, then the license will end when they delete it.

• When intellectual property content is deleted, it may remain in backup files for a brief period of time but will not be available to others.

• Content published or information in the “public” setting, users grant everyone on Facebook and off Facebook to access and use that information and content. Also, it associates the content and information back to the user’s name and profile photograph.

• Users understand that Facebook is under no obligation to compensate the users for the content Facebook uses just as users are under no obligation to post the content.

• When users use an application, the application may ask for the user’s permission to access both content and information as well as content and information that others have shared with the user. Facebook requires applications to respect our user’s privacy and the agreement with the application will control how the application can use, store and transfer that content and information.

Facebook users can control how their content is shared by making adjustments in both their privacy and applications settings.

While the privacy settings can be overwhelming, Mashable.com offers Facebook users the a list of settings every user needs to know.

• Sharing on Facebook — Whether it’s people posting to your timeline or tagging you, users can control who can post and tag you. To review the options, go to privacy settings and click on “timeline and tagging” and make the desired restrictions.

• Connecting on Facebook — From how users are searched on Facebook to sending messages, this setting determines how people can find you on Facebook. The options available under this setting include friends only, friends of friends, everyone or customize, which isn’t always an option. To make changes to these settings, go to privacy settings and click on “how you connect.”

• Applications — While it may be painful to sort through all the applications, it may be easier to remove applications that aren’t in use. With the applications that are in use, be sure to review the permissions each application has been given and adjust as necessary. To see the applications accessing your information, go to the privacy settings and click on the “ads, apps and websites” and then “apps you use.”

• Instant personalization — This setting allows third-party websites to personalize the user’s experience, which can be nice but it also allows the website to access personal data. To completely disable this setting, make sure to leave the checkbox unchecked in the privacy settings. To check this setting, go to privacy settings and click on the “ads, apps and websites” and click on “instant personalization.”

• Information accessible — No matter how tight users think their privacy settings are, their information can still be shared through their friends and more. Depending on their privacy settings, users can limit the information that’s available to applications, games and websites that friends or people on Facebook are using to see your information. To change this setting, go to privacy settings and click on the “ads, apps and websites” and then “how people bring your info to apps they use” and select the appropriate boxes.

• Public search — Search engines can access a preview of a user’s public profile, which can be very revealing. To prevent this from happening, users should turn off this option. To completely disable this setting, make sure to leave the checkbox unchecked in the privacy settings. To check this setting, go to privacy settings and click on the “ads, apps and websites” and click on “public search.”

• Friends lists — With some users having more than 200 Facebook friends, it’s likely that you don’t want to share every detail of your life with all of them. By using and creating lists, users can limit the information shared to each of your lists. To change this setting, click on the “friends” header on the side of the news feed and create a list.

• Enabling HTTPS — While enabling secure browsing is more a security issue than a privacy issue, it helps crack down on hackers gaining access to your account. With the added security, enabling secure browsing can make Facebook a bit slower and some features may not work just yet. To enable this setting, go to account settings and select “account security” and check the box that states “browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) when possible.”

For more information about your rights, check out Facebook’s statement of rights and responsibilities page at www.facebook.com/legal/terms.