ZEPHYR — The public school all-stars ended the game on a 14-0 run over the final 3:49 to defeat the private school all-stars, 64-57, in the first Small School Shootout Friday night, part of the inaugural Don Hardin Texas Bowl weekend.

Austin Parton led the public schoolers with 16 points followed by 14 from Todd Meador, 10 each from Jared Howard and Ethan Jaggars of May, five apiece from Dillon Williams and Kaiden King of Zephyr and one point by Tres Leal.

Conner Cleveland scored 14 points to pace the private schoolers followed by 13 each from Brenden Williams and Philip Meikle, eight from Trey Ford, seven from Peter Meikle and two points from Brenden Brawley.

Parton was selected offensive MVP and won a slam dunk contest, voted on by applause, after the game. Philip Meikle was named defensive MVP.

The public school team was coached by Steve Howard and Craig Steele of May.



ZEPHYR — The West all-stars led by as many as 18 points and the margin got no closer than eight in the second half of a 69-57 victory over the East in the first Don Hardin Small School Shootout Friday.

Leading the way for the West were offensive MVP Abby Hill with 21 points followed by defensive MVP Aubri Perry with 13, Courtney Head with eight, Haley Lehman with seven, Haley Birkenfield with six, Sara Clay and Katlin Thompson with five apiece, Katey Bullock with three and Samantha Medrano with one point.

For the East, Callie Houston scored 20 points trailed by nine from Samantha Flanagan, six each from Sara Etherington and Brittany Bradley, five apiece by Kendra Walls, Cayla Randolph and Zephyr’s Aubrey Burkett and one point by Kaleigh Cunningham. Zephyr’s Brianna Griffin also took part in the action.

Zephyr’s DeAnn Perkins coached the East.