Early voting in the May 10 local elections approaches the halfway point today, and approximately 380 ballots had been cast in the Brownwood municipal elections by late afternoon Wednesday.

Officials at the Brown County Elections Administration Office said early voting hours will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today and Friday, but extended hours are planned for the final two days of early voting next week.

Early voting for the Brownwood municipal elections and the board of directors election in the Brown County Water Improvement District No. 1 are being held at the Coliseum Annex, 110 S. Greenleaf.

With a surge in early voting expected as the deadline nears Tuesday afternoon, Elections Administrator Suzy Young said the hours will be 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on both Monday and Tuesday.

“Friday, May 2, is the last day for (the office) to receive a request for a mail ballot, and it must be in the office no later than 5 p.m.,” Young said Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Texas Secretary of State Phil Wilson addressed rumors and e-mails that have been circulating urging voters to support a supposed constitutional amendment on homestead exemptions. That election, however, was held in 2005.

“I have seen some of the comments on the Internet, and I’m not sure where that e-mail is coming from, but we have had several calls about it ourselves,” Young said.

Voters who live in the City of Brownwood will find four propositions — but no races involving candidates — on their ballots. The first calls for an amendment to the city charter to change the police chief from an elected to an appointed, or hired, position. The other three propositions ask for voters’ approval on a series of actions that would allow sales tax revenue already being collected to be used for a Camp Bowie parks project and relocation of the senior citizens facility.

No terms of elected municipal officials in Brownwood expire this year.

Residents of the Brown County Water Improvement District No. 1, which is roughly in the area of the cities of Brownwood and Early as the city limits stood in the early 20th century, will vote to elect board members to four-year terms. Incumbents Stuart Coleman, Jay Timmins and Pierre Osbourn, along with challenger Tommy Davis have filed.

Early voting in both those elections will be held at the Coliseum Annex at 110 S. Greenleaf.

Meanwhile, voters in other parts of the county will also be voting.

For Bangs City Council, Mayor Steve Whittenberg, incumbent council members Kyle Teston and Marisa Craddock, and challenger Kim Henderson have filed.

For Bangs school board, incumbents Gary Hamrick and Lyndyl Tidwell have filed, as have challengers Sandy Bryson and Larry Drury.

In Blanket, Place 1 incumbent Curt Tunnell is unopposed for school board, but Place 2 incumbent Greg Willborn is challenged by Pamela Barron and James Heard.

No contests developed for Early City Council or Early ISD trustee, nor for Blanket City Council.