Early voting opens today for the only two Brown County governmental entities holding an election on May 9.

Voters casting ballots in the Bangs municipal races and Bangs school board races can early vote today through May 5 at Adams Street Community Center in Brownwood. The Brown County Election Administratorís Office is now inside the community center, having been moved from the coliseum annex.

Cities and school districts not holding elections on May 9 will call elections to be held jointly with county voting in November. Some entities that normally would hold elections in May will not this year because no contests materialized.

In Bangs, Mayor Steve Whittenberg will be challenged by Texas Department of Public Safety Trooper Martin Molotsky. Incumbent council members Waymond Sheppard and Kyle Teston have filed for reelection and will be challenged by Cornelius Hood Jr.

On the Bangs school board, the positions held by Jerry Roberts, Larry Lehman and Fern Sheppard are open, but no one has filed. Sandy Bryson, who was appointed to fulfill the unexpired term of Lyndyl Tidwell, will be facing Tidwell, who has once again filed for the same position.

Early voting at the center, located at 511. E. Adams, will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. today through Friday this week. Early voting polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on the final two days of the early voting period, Monday and Tuesday, May 4-5.

On election day, voters will cast their ballot at the junior high cafetorium or at the Lake Brownwood 4-H Center.

In Early, Dr. Robert Mangrum, mayor, has filed for reelection. Incumbent council members Janice Bush and Joel Johnson have once again filed, but are unopposed. B. J. McCul-lough and Charles Matlock, both of whom were appointed last year to fulfill unexpired terms, have filed for election, but were also unopposed.

Shawn Russell, a member of the Early ISD Board of Trustees for 13 years, decided not to seek reelection in Place 2. Terry Sullivan, the only candidate to file, will replace Russell. In Place 1, incumbent Pat Mooney will retain his seat, as he was unopposed.

In Blanket, Mayor John Jones as well as council members Russell Wigham and B.J. McGinis have filed for reelection, but are unopposed.

Voters may request an application for a ballot by mail. Applications may be submitted in person or mailed to Suzy Young, Elections Administrator, P.O. Box, 700, Brownwood, TX 76804. Mailed applications must be received by May 1.

Voters who have not registered to vote will be unable to vote in this election. Voters must register at least 30 days prior to any election, and the process is ongoing.