McCarty named Newcomer of the Year to highlight selections

The Brownwood Lions were the recipients of 24 all-district football accolades by the coaches of 3-4A Division I, whose selections were made public Monday.

Leading the charge for the Lions was sophomore receiver A.J. McCarty, who was tabbed the district’s Newcomer of the Year. McCarty finished the season with 39 receptions for 785 yards and nine touchdowns, while rushing for 89 yards and a score on 15 carries.

First-team offensive selections for the Lions included quarterback Tommy Bowden, running back Gavin Jefferson, receiver Braden Jetton, lineman Liam McCraw and kicker Rylan Reagan.

Bowden completed 143 of 228 passes for 2,194 yards with 26 touchdowns and one interception while rushing for 548 yards and nine scores. Jefferson finished with 1,008 yards rushing and 12 touchdowns, while catching three passes for 101 yards with two trips to the end zone. Jetton hauled in 34 catches for 568 yards and seven scores, while McCraw helped pave the way for an offense that averaged 38 points and 401 yards — 214 passing and 187 rushing — per contest, with just six turnovers. Among Reagan’s highlights was a 45-yard field goal at the end of regulation that forced the Abilene Wylie game into overtime.

First-team defensive picks from Brownwood were lineman Theo Bryant, end Hayden Tunnell, linebacker Hunter Mares and defensive back Patrick Nash.

Nash led the Lions with 87 tackles including seven for loss and one sack, followed by Tunnell with 71 tackles including 13.5 for loss and five sacks. Mares contributed 61 tackles including 10 for loss with four sacks, one interception, one fumble recovery and one safety. Bryant tallied 50 tackles with five for loss, three sacks and a pair of fumble recoveries.

Making the second-team offense were running back Cain Kittrell, receiver Nick Salazar, center Wyatt Jacobs, linemen Colby Coppic and Blaize Infinger and Reagan at tight end.

Salazar grabbed 39 receptions for 548 yards with six scores, while Kittrell rushed for 352 yards and five touchdowns while catching seven passes for 61 yards.

On the second-team defense for the Lions were lineman Santanna Espinoza, end Hunter Leonard, linebacker Dylan Hickey, defensive backs Marcus Mosley and Tristin Revada and Reagan at punter.

Espinoza recorded 52 tackles with seven for loss, two sacks and a fumble recovery; Leonard notched 56 tackles with 11 for loss, six sacks and a safety; Hickey tallied 60 tackles with four for loss, one sack, one interception and one fumble recovery; Mosley contributed 59 tackles with two interceptions; and Revada finished with 40 tackles, two interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Receiving honorable mention were center Carlos Benites, linebacker Hayden Donahoo, and defensive back Kirk Vickers.

Vickers posted 68 tackles with one interception and one fumble recovery while Donahoo tallied 49 tackles with one for loss and two fumble recoveries.

Other superlative award winners included District MVP Gage Graham of Stephenville; Offensive MVP Easton Jones of Stephenville; Defensive MVP Blu Caylor of Stephenville; and Coach of the Year Greg Winder of Stephenville.

Rounding out the first-team offense were quarterback Sam King of Abilene Wylie; running backs Krece Nowak of Stephenville and Cason Grant of Wylie; tight ends Kade Averhoff of Stephenville and Lane Ross of Wylie; receivers Blake Aragon and Kyle Lindsey of Stephenville and Gatlin Martin of Wylie; center Jacob Poston of Stephenville; linemen Connor Carlton of, Ethan Goswick of Snyder and Ty’Von Anderson-Robison and Devon Roeming of Stephenville; and kicker Chase Carrillo of Stephenville.

Comprising the rest of the first-team defense were linemen Pacen Parker of Stephenville and Ryan Hamar and Riley Bailey of Wylie; end Anthony Guerrero of Wylie; linebackers Leshun Burns of Snyder, Zane Walker of Stephenville and Josh Goodnature of Wylie; defensive backs Wyatt Wink and Gatlin Martin of Wylie and Cole Pettit of Stephenville; special teams players Brazos Ham of Wylie and Justin Cuellar of Big Spring; utility players Nathan Kendrick of Snyder and Brady Horn of Wylie; and punter Jake Chavez of Snyder.

The remainder of the second-team offense featured running back J.J. Burns of Snyder; receivers Jeremiah Cooley of Big Spring and Evan Cantrell of Wylie; and linemen Scott Gill and Lane York of Stephenville, A.J. Gonzales of Big Spring and Andrew Rodriguez of Wylie.

Completing the second-team defensive roster were linemen Damien Cisneros of Big Spring, Jesse Partlow of Snyder, and Jonathan Gutierrez and Dylan Garber of Stephenville; end Kyle Saenz of Wylie; linebackers Kasey Bouchey of Stephenville, Braison Kuhl of Snyder and Cade Wash of Big Spring; and defensive backs Nathan Kendrick of Snyder and Cody Storrs and Chase Carillo of Stephenville.

The Lions, under second-year head coach Kyle Maxfield, finished with a 6-5 overall record and placed third in the district standings, exiting the playoffs in the first round.