Bulletin Staff Report

The American Southwest Conference revealed Thursday that the Athlete Advisory Committee Team Sportsmanship Award for softball had been awarded to the Howard Payne Lady Jackets.

The Lady Jackets became the fourth team from Howard Payne to receive that honor in its respective sport this season. Also presented with the award were the HPU football, volleyball and men’s basketball teams. Mississippi College is the only ASC school to receive more sportsmanship awards this season.

The award, in its first academic year, honors the member institution in each ASC championship sport that best displays positive qualities of sportsmanship and fair play from its student-athletes, coaches and fans throughout the season.

The student-athlete advisory committees from the conference’s 15 member institutions vote on the recipients.

Members of the Howard Payne softball team — which posted a 26-17 overall record, advanced to its third straight ASC tournament and collected its first conference tournament win — include Melissa Hall, Cory Lee, Justine Ferrell-Raborn, Jenna Middleton, Brooke Schneider, Kristi Pinkerton, Lauren Bollich, Kate McLaughlin, Hayley Fowler, Ashley Silva, Lauren Vesely, Courtni Buster and first-year head coach Jose Mata.