Bulletin Staff Report

Seven members of the Howard Payne Lady Jackets softball team received American Southwest Conference West Division postseason honors following the programís third straight ASC tournament appearance.

Junior Kate McLaughlin was the lone first-team choice from Howard Payne, which finished the season 26-17 and won its first ASC tournament game in five trips.

McLaughlin, an outfielder, led the Lady Jackets with a .389 batting average and 12 doubles. She also added two home runs, 24 RBIs and 32 runs.

McLaughlin was also selected to the third team of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Region squad.

Second-team selections for Howard Payne included second baseman Lauren Bollich, outfielder Kristi Pinkerton and pitcher Jenna Middleton ó all juniors.

Bollich batted .326 for the year with a team-high 33 runs scored and 18 RBIs.

Pinkerton finished with a .312 average, 21 RBIs, 20 runs and nine extra-base hits.

Middleton posted an 11-9 record and a 3.01 ERA with 101 strikeouts in 137.1 innings of action.

Receiving honorable mention for the Lady Jackets were senior catcher Cory Lee (.348, 3 HRs, 21 RBIs), freshman first baseman Ashley Silva (.344, 8 HRs, 41 RBIs) and freshman third baseman Courtni Buster (.241, 8 RBIs, 22 runs).

Earning superlative awards in the ASC West were player of the year Kacie Kripner, a senior catcher from Mary Hardin-Baylor; pitcher of the year Daphnie Kahlig, a senior right-hander from Mary Hardin-Baylor; newcomer of the year Megan Pulido, a junior third baseman from Concordia; freshman of the year Jessica Rattan, a shortstop from Concordia; and coaches of the year Kasey Blomquist from Mary Hardin-Baylor and Kathy Pittman and Stan Warren from Concordia.

ASC West champion Mary Hardin-Baylor will join ASC champion Louisiana College and runner-up UT-Tyler in the NCAA tournament.



Player of the Year

Kacie Kripner, C, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

Pitcher of the Year

Daphne Kahlig, RHP, Sr., Mary Hardin-Baylor

Newcomer of the Year

Megan Pulido, 3B, Jr., Concordia

Freshman of the Year

Jessica Rattan, SS, Concordia

Coaches of the Year

Kasey Blomquist, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Kathy Pittman & Stan Warren, Concordia


(Listed in order of voting point totals)

1B Sadye Hill Sr. Hardin-Simmons

2B Erica Salazar Sr. UMHB

2B Jessica Vasquez Sr. Concordia

SS Katina Penter Sr. UMHB

3B Megan Pulido Sr. Concordia

C Kacie Kripner Sr. UMHB

OF Karen Smart Jr. Concordia

OF Kate McLaughlin Jr. Howard Payne

OF Casey Salinas Sr. Texas Lutheran

UT Cara Patranella Sr. Concordia

P Daphnie Kahlig Sr. UMHB

P Kelsey Greeson So. UMHB

P Laura Rawlings Fr. Hardin-Simmons


1B Charlsie Cope Sr. UMHB

2B Lauren Bollich Jr. Howard Payne

SS Jessica Rattan Fr. Concordia

3B Tara Gonzalez Jr. Schreiner

C Lydia Bradley Sr. Hardin-Simmons

OF Becca Ribera Sr. UMHB

OF Kristi Pinkerton Jr. Howard Payne

OF Cera Beasley Fr. Hardin-Simmons

DP Kourtney Bailey Fr. Hardin-Simmons

UT Alison Organ Jr. Texas Lutheran

P Jenna Middleton Jr. Howard Payne

P Christina Jacobsen Sr. Texas Lutheran

P Patsy Toman Jr. Schreiner


1B Ashley Silva Fr. Howard Payne

2B Cricket Criner Jr. Hardin-Simmons

2B Sarah Trevino Jr. Schreiner

SS Courtney Clark So. Hardin-Simmons

SS Meagan Eichman Sr. Schreiner

3B Courtni Buster Fr. Howard Payne

3B Heather Cobb Fr. Hardin-Simmons

C Cory Lee Sr. Howard Payne

C Marla Jendrusch Fr. Schreiner

OF Jodi Hierholzer Fr. Concordia

OF Sara Roman Fr. UMHB

OF Autumn Vara Jr. Schreiner

OF Lindsey Rutkowski So. Schreiner

OF Valarie Olivares Jr. Sul Ross

OF Natalie Suciu Jr. Texas Lutheran

DP Audrey Castro Fr. Texas Lutheran

UT Lacie Cole Fr. Hardin-Simmons