Bulletin Staff Report

Howard Payne outfielder Taylor Zambreski was named the American Southwest Conference West Division baseball freshman of the year, highlighting the Yellow Jacketsí eight postseason selections.

Zambreski, who also was named an honorable mention outfielder, led the Yellow Jackets in games played (40), batting average (.411), hits (62) and extra-base hits (18). Zambreski finished tied for the team lead in home runs with five and his 32 RBIs were second most on the team.

Senior pitcher Adam Garcia landed on the ASC West second team, the while the rest of the Yellow Jackets chosen received honorable mention.

Garcia posted a 4-4 record and a 5.85 ERA in 75.1 innings. Garcia struck out 47 batters, walked 34 and allowed 49 earned runs.

Honorable mention selections for the Yellow Jackets included senior catcher Jose Sierra (.311, 23 RBIs), junior shortstop Cale Thompson (.302, HR, 18 RBIs), junior outfielder James Mays (.256, HR, 20 RBIs), sophomore designated hitter Kyle Lloyd (.298, 2 HRs, 20 RBIs) and freshman third baseman Billy Ray Cruz (.295, 14 RBIs).

The Yellow Jackets finished the season 14-26 overall and 8-13 in ASC West action.

Earning the rest of the superlative awards in the ASC West were player of the year Derek David, a senior third baseman from McMurry; pitcher of the year Cody Curry, a junior right-hander from McMurry; newcomer of the year Tom Williams, a junior outfielder from Concordia; and tri-coaches of the year Lee Driggers from McMurry, Mike Gardner from Concordia and Micah Wells from Mary Hardin-Baylor.

McMurry captured the ASC championship over Concordia in the final of the conference tournament this past Sunday, which was held at Driggers Field on the McMurry campus.

Former Brownwood Lion Josh Alcorn also made the team, earning first-team honors as a relief pitcher for Hardin-Simmons.



Player of the Year: Derek David, 3B, Sr., McMurry

Pitcher of the Year: Cody Curry, RHP, Jr., McMurry

Newcomer of the Year: Tom Williams, OF, Jr., Concordia

Freshman of the Year: Taylor Zambreski, OF, HPU

Tri-Coaches of the Year: Lee Driggers, McMurry; Mike Gardner, Concordia; Micah Wells, Mary Hardin-Baylor


(Listed in order of voting point totals)

1B Brent Voorhees Sr. McMurry

2B Steven Yurchick Sr. McMurry

SS Javier Arrieta So. Sul Ross State

3B Derek David Sr. McMurry

C Brian Wernecke Jr. Concordia

OF Joseph Villegas So. Mary Hardin-Baylor

OF Tom Williams Jr. Concordia

OF Marcus Volz Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

DH Nick Schrock So. Concordia

UTL R.B. Garza Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

SP Cody Curry Jr. McMurry

SP R.B. Garza Jr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

RP Josh Alcorn Sr. Hardin-Simmons


1B Steven Reinlie Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

2B Adam Froeschl Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

SS Bryan Jacobs Sr. Concordia

3B Andrew White So. Mary Hardin-Baylor

C Regan Dixon So. Hardin-Simmons

OF Wayne Pimpton Sr. Hardin-Simmons

OF Kyle Harvey Jr. Texas Lutheran

OF Patrick Mercer Jr. Concordia

OF Ryan Stepp Sr. Hardin-Simmons

DH Weston Franco Jr. McMurry

UTL Stephen Derrick Jr. McMurry

UTL Tre Sellari Sr. Hardin-Simmons

SP Nathan Copeland Sr. Hardin-Simmons

SP Adam Garcia Sr. Howard Payne

RP Kyle Barton Jr. Hardin-Simmons


1B Chad Thielepape Jr. Concordia

1B James Gage Jr. Hardin-Simmons

1B Jason Foley Sr. Texas Lutheran

2B Andrew Femath So. Texas Lutheran

SS Chris Green Fr. Texas Lutheran

SS Brian Weeks Fr. Hardin-Simmons

SS Cale Thompson Jr. Howard Payne

3B Stephen Szkotak Jr. Concordia

3B Billy Ray Cruz Fr. Howard Payne

C Jose Sierra Sr. Howard Payne

C Jeff Jackson So. McMurry

C Chris Siniff Jr. Texas Lutheran

OF Drew Farr Jr. Texas Lutheran

OF Nick Cmerek Jr. Concordia

OF Ryan Nokelby So. Texas Lutheran

OF George Whitten Sr. McMurry

OF Taylor Zambreski Fr. Howard Payne

OF Matt Langston Sr. Schreiner

OF James Mays Jr. Howard Payne

OF Earnest Pena Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor

DH Joseph Brade Sr. Texas Lutheran

DH Oscar Ibieta Fr. Schreiner

DH Kyle Lloyd So. Howard Payne

UTL Justin Beasley Fr. Concordia

SP James Sweatman Sr. Hardin-Simmons

SP Ben Whitely So. Concordia

SP Stephen Szkotak Jr. Concordia

SP Colton Hermes So. Schreiner

SP Ethan Morrison Sr. Concordia

RP Matt Aubry Sr. Concordia

RP Robert Conley Sr. Texas Lutheran

RP Aaron Wood Sr. McMurry