The Early Lady Horns’ dominance in 6-2A softball action was exhibited on the field, as well as in the postseason honors as the district champions chalked up eight all-district selections.

Early, which qualified for the playoffs for the 10th season in a row, led 6-2A with its eight all-district honors. Third-place Jim Ned finished with six choices followed by five from runner-up Coleman. Fellow Brown County program Bangs had two players selected.

Earning superlative awards for the Lady Horns were pitcher of the year Janna Allen, defensive player of the year Tylene Middleton and coach of the year Bryan Waller.

Allen, Early’s ace pitcher, and Middleton, the Lady Horns’ shortstop, are both sophomores.

Waller, in his third season at Early, has led the Lady Horns to a third-place finish, a second-place finish and a district championship, along with the program’s first postseason victory in five years.

A trio of Lady Horns landed on the first team in sophomore third baseman Tresta Donahoo, junior center fielder Kayla Dickerson and sophomore right fielder Julia Loudermilk.

Making the second team from Early were freshman first baseman Shandi Winstead and senior left fielder Sarah Russell.

The Lady Horns finished 25-7 overall and advanced to the regional quarterfinals for the first time since 2003.

The Bangs Lady Dragons posted a 14-16 overall record and 4-10 mark in District 6-2A action, which left them tied for sixth place.

Earning all-district accolades for the Lady Dragons were senior Shiloh Morris and junior LeCrecia Apple, who were both selected to the second team.

The 6-2A Most Valuable Player honor was shared by Coleman junior Eden Duquette and Grape Creek junior Jamie Wilson. Jim Ned senior Kayla Thomas was named offensive player of the year, Coleman freshman Amanda Gober was tabbed newcomer of the year and Jim Ned senior Betti Jo Chambliss was voted utility player of the year.

Other first-team selections included Sam Wilson and Karli Sharp of Jim Ned; Carissa Zarate and Rynn Norris of Coleman; Megan Mikulik and Ashlei Gesch of Wall; Victoria Aguilla and Macy Doan of Grape Creek; and Alisha Multer of Ballinger.

Rounding out the second team were Ballinger’s Ashley Newburg, Jacie Frierson and Alli Tounget; Wall’s Allyson Seider, Taylor Little and Kristen Sefcik; Jim Ned’s Kylee Sartin and Talena Tippett; Coleman’s Jessica Morales; Grape Creek’s Brook Dubois; and San Saba’s Tara Crosby.