Bulletin Staff Report

Bangs placed four players on the first team District 6-2A all-district baseball team, including freshman newcomer of the year Dough Drury, and Early had two players listed.

Pitcher Caleb Stone, infielder Justin Greenhaw and outfield Joey Brooke were the other Bangs Dragons listed on the team.

For the Early Longhorns, pitcher Cale Bearden and infielder Nick Lyle were named to the first team.

Second team selections included pitcher Justin Kyle and first baseman Nic Carruth, both of Bangs; and first baseman Cody Thompson of and Mitchell Bailey, both of Early.

Landon McCall, a junior from Grape Creek, was named the district’s MVP. Miles Gully, a Wall freshman, shared newcomer of the year honors with Drury.

Here is the complete list of all-district choices:


MVP — Landon McCall, Grape Creek, junior

Catcher — Luke Haug, San Saba, senior

First base — Kyle Broadway, Grape Creek, senior; Travis Hawkins, San Saba, senior

Pitchers — Derrick Dallas, Ballinger, senior; Cale Bearden, Early, junior; Caleb Stone, Bangs, junior; Blake Lewis, San Saba, junior

Infielders — Justin Greenhaw, Bangs, senior; Nick Lyle, Early, junior; Colton Rathmell, Grape Creek, sophomore; Layton Landers, Grape Creek, senior; Rober Pulatie, San Saba, senior

Outfielders — Joey Brooke, Bangs, senior; Nathaniel Long, Grape Creek, junior; Matt Gonzalez, Grape Creek, sophomore; John Henry, San Saba, senior

Utility player — Denver Lewallen, Wall, senior

Newcomer of the year — Doug Drury, Bangs, freshman; Miles Gully, Wall, freshman

Designated hutter, Caleb Usery, Wall, senior


Catcher — Hunter Ashley, Grape Creek, junior

Pitchers — Justin Kyle, Bangs, junior; Nelson Ingram, Jim Ned, junior; Blake Farmer, Grape Creek, junior; Mitchell Putska, Grape Creek, junior; Tevin Powers, Wall, junior

First base — Nic Carruth, Bangs, senior; Cody Thompson, Early, senior

Infielders — Tucker Travis, Ballinger, junior; Colton Nuzzard, Coleman, junior; Ty Hodges, Jim Ned, junior; Casey Phillips, San Sabas, senior; Derek Sears, San Saba, senior

Outfielders — Phillip Lopez, Ballinger, sophomore; Mitchell Bailey, Early, senior; Jacob Jones, Grape Creek, senior; D.J. Moeller, Wall, junior

Designated hitter — Josh O’Dell, Jim Ned, senior.