Bulletin Staff Report

The Region I-2A champion and state semifinalist Early Lady Horns received 11 postseason accolades as the 8-2A softball all-district team, voted on by the league’s coaches, was revealed this week.

The Lady Horns (33-5), who posted an undefeated league record en route to capturing the 8-2A championship, earned four superlative awards.

Junior shortstop Tylene Middleton was selected the 8-2A Most Valuable Player, junior right fielder Julia Loudermilk was voted the district’s Offensive Player of the Year and junior Janna Allen was chosen as Pitcher of the Year — all unanimously. Bryan Waller was also tabbed the 8-2A coach of the year.

First-team picks for Early included junior catcher Tresta Donahoo, another unanimous choice, senior center fielder Kayla Dickerson and junior second baseman Bailey Harris.

Lady Horns to make the second team were sophomore first baseman Shandi Winstead and freshman left fielder Morgan Birrell.

Sophomore Kish Suniga and senior Brittany Davis, who both spent time at third base, received honorable mention for Early.

The Bangs Lady Dragons finished with seven all-district selections, highlighted by freshman Beth Mullins being named Newcomer of the Year.

Senior Shayla James was voted to the first team as a designated player, while senior infielder Molly Davis and junior outfielder Brittany Newton landed on the second team.

Receiving honorable mention for Bangs (13-10) were seniors Danielle Johnson and Courtney Truitt, along with freshman Keelee Allen.

Listed below is the complete 8-2A all-district softball roster:

8-2A Softball All-District Roster

*Unanimous Selection

MVP: Tylene Middleton, Jr. Early*

Offensive Player of the Year: Julia Loudermilk, Jr., Early*

Defensive Player of the Year: Amber Lewis, Sr., Dublin

Pitcher of the Year: Janna Allen, Jr., Early*

Newcomer of the Year: Beth Mullins, Fr., Bangs

Utility Player of the Year: Cayla Beck, So., Dublin

Coach of the Year: Bryan Waller, Early

First Team

Pitcher: Eden Duquette, Sr., Coleman*

Infielders: Tresta Donahoo, Jr., Early*; Bailey Harris, Jr., Early; Wakely Brown, So., Dublin; Rynn Norris, Jr., Coleman; Jessica Morales Jr., Coleman; Carissa Zarate, Jr., Coleman

Outfielders: Kim Ramos, So., Dublin; Erin Strickland, So., Coleman; Kayla Dickerson, Sr., Early; Adrian Villareal, Sr., Brady; Becca Pratt, Sr., Comanche

Designated Player: Shayla James, Sr., Bangs

Second Team

Pitcher: Allison Abbey, Sr., Comanche

Infielders: Sara Hodges, Sr., Comanche; Molly Davis, Sr., Bangs; Shelby Thiebaud, Sr., Dublin; Shandi Winstead, So., Early; Tarah Crosby, So., San Saba

Outfielders: Red Patterson, Jr., Brady; Sarah Slayton, Jr. Coleman; Morgan Birrell, Fr., Early; Brittany Newton, Jr., Bangs; Kylie Vestal, So., Comanche

Honorable Mention (By School)

Early: Kish Suniga, So; Brittany Davis, Sr.

Bangs: Keelee Allen, Fr.; Danielle Johnson, Sr.; Courtney Truitt, Sr.

Coleman: Ashley Grissom, Fr.; Cheyenne Turner, Sr.; Laiken Barnett, Fr.

Comanche: Lacey Drewes, Soph; Mari Constancia, Sr.

San Saba: Kristen Jordan, Fr.; Ashley Pulatie, Fr.; Katy Davis, Sr.; Whitney Key, Sr.

Dublin: Mekayla Leatherwood, Sr.

Brady: Jeanette Barron, Sr.