Less than one week into the filing season, contests have already developed in three local races in the March 6 Brown County Republican Party primary election.

Those contests are for Brown County Commissioner Precinct 1 and Brown County Commissioner Precinct 3, and for Brown County Constable Precinct 3. The incumbents have filed for reelection to each of those positions.

Meanwhile, incumbents in three other Brown County elected offices have also filed.

The names are those who have filed so far in which contested races have developed are as follows:

Brown County Commissioner Precinct 1 - Steve Adams (incumbent), Tommy Blevins.

Brown County Commissioner Precinct 3 - Richard Gist (incumbent), Wayne Shaw and Chris Cadenhead.

Brown County Constable Precinct 3 - C.T. Ham (incumbent), Keith Varner.

The following incumbents have also filed for reelection, and so far are unopposed:

Brown County Constable Precinct 1 - Bob Beadel.

Brown County Constable Precinct 2 - David Hefner.

Brown County Constable Precinct 4 - Jim Byars.

At mid-week, no other candidates had filed for county offices which will be on the March 6, 2012, Republican Party primary ballot. Those offices are Brown County sheriff, Brown County attorney and Brown County tax assessor-collector. Candidates for the county offices listed above file with Brown County Republican Party Chairman Brad Locker.

Other races will be on the ballot, but those candidates must file with the state party.

Those offices include 35th District Judge, and incumbent Steve Ellis has already announced his intention to seek another term.

Other state office-holders who have filed include state Sen. Troy Fraser, according to the website maintained by the Texas Republican Party.

Candidates filing to run in the Democratic Party Primary file with Brown County Democratic Party Chairman David Bullion or the State Democratic Party, depending on the office sought.

The deadline to file for places on the party primary ballots is 6 p.m. Dec. 15. The filing period opened Monday.