BALLINGER- The Ballinger Bearcats placed third in the Ballinger High School Invitational basketball tournament held in Ballinger last Thursday, December 1 thru Saturday, December 3, 2011.

The Bearcats won their first game 55-20 against Junction, Chris Keesee led the way with 21 points, Raymond Delgado had 12, Lane Carter 10, Tyler McBurney 6, and each one of Brandon Hunter, Aaron Dixon, and Ely Self scored 2 points.

In their second match the Bearcats couldn't defeat the Clyde Bulldogs and were defeated 57-48.

For the Bearcats Delgado scored 1 1points, Anthony Hurst had 10, Tyler McBurney had 9, Lane Carter 6, Aaron Dixon and Chris Keesee had 4 points each, Brandon Hunter 3, and Ely Self 1.

In their third game the Bearcats had a head to head battle against San Angelo Central Junior JV. In the end the Bearcats managed to come out victorious by one point 45-44 and secure the third place.

In the first quarter Lance Carter scored with a field throw and Raymond Delgado added three points with another field throw and a free throw. San Angelo Central took the lead 6-5 with field shots by Owens and Davis, and two free throws by Davis.

In the second quarter Delgado a triple by Delgado, field shots by Keesee and McBurney and a free throw by Hurst tied the score 13-13.

Ballinger increased the offensive production in the third quarter, with a total of 15 points, However San Angelo scored 18 aided by triples of Lara, Davis and Garza. For the Bearcats Hunter had a triple and a field goal, Carter and Self had a field goal and Delgado scored two. Self and Hurst also contributed with a free throw each.

The Bearcats started the last quarter down by three points and did what they had to do. Chris Keesee had two free throws, Carter scored three free throws, Raymond Delgado and McBurney scored a field throw each, and Anthony Hurst added four points with a field throw and two free throws for the final 45-44.

Lane Carter and Chris Keesee were named All-Tournament Team. Ballinger placed third, Clyde Bulldogs placed second and the Colorado City Wolves secured the first place of the tournament.