The filing period for the May municipal and school board elections ended Friday, and races have developed for the Bangs City Council, the Early school board, the Blanket City Council and the Blanket school board.

In the elections for the Early City Council and Bangs school board, incumbents filed and will not face challengers.

On the Early school board, three seats are open: Place 3, held by Ray Bertrand; Place 4, held by Mike Kingston; and Place 5, held by Shawn Russell. All three have filed. Anna Allen has filed to challenge Bertrand for this Place 3 seat, and in Place 5, Mark Rome has filed to challenge Russell.

In the Bangs City Council race, seats held by Mayor Eric Bishop, council member Waymond Sheppard and the seat vacated by Rick Phelps are open. Sheppard, Skip Thomas and former Mayor Carol Wells has filed, and Phelps has filed to reclaim the seat he vacated.

Phelps had resigned his council seat to take a job with the city but resigned from that job so he could run for the city council once again, city officials said.

In Blanket, Mayor Judy Eoff's seat is open. Two full-term seats held by Jerry Bingham and Arthur Larkin are open. The unexpired one-year seat of Scott Isham is also open. Eoff has filed to run for a new term, and Larkin and Bingham and former council member Dewey Blanton will compete for the two council seats. Isham has filed for his one-year seat.

On the Blanket school board, four places are open: Place 1, held by Billy Graham, who was recently appointed to the seat that had been vacant; Place 3, held by Beth Boyer; place 4, held by Johnny Storey; and Place 5, held by Russell Wigham. All four have filed, and challenger Gayla McLaughlin has filed for place 5.

On the Bangs school board two seats are open. The incumbents are Eric Lykins and Dennis Sanchez. Both have filed.

In the City of Early, seats held by Mayor Bob Mangrum and council members Joel Johnson and Janice Bush are open. All three have filed for re-election.

Not all school districts in the county will hold elections in May Brownwood, Brookesmith, May and Zephyr schools will not hold elections until November.