BALLINGER– Friday, April 5, 2013, a new batch of students were greeted in the Ballinger Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society at a ceremony held at the Ballinger High School Auditorium. Ten sixth graders, four seventh graders and two eighth graders became members of one of the nation’s premier organizations established to recognize outstanding students.

The organization, more than just an honor roll, serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Character, Leadership, Service, and Citizenship.

The ceremony was opened by NJHS sponsor Mrs. Victoria Fritze. Zakk Ottmers led the prayer followed by the pledge to the flags by Ana Cantu. Lauren Harral sang the national anthem and NJHS President McKenzie Arrott presented the President’s speech.

The five candles were lit by: Scholarship – Kinley Gray and Hunter Cassaday, Character – Emily Biscoe and Kaci O’Bryant, Leadership – Audrey Brown and Jon Binder, Service – Cheyenne Collier and Ashley Likes, Citizenship – Dakota Boone and Matthew Denigro.

McKenzie Arrott led the NJHS pledge and along with Jon Binder the presentation of pins. Ballinger Junior High Principal Gordon Gloria presented the closing remarks and a reception followed the ceremony at the Junior High Library.

Those inducted at the ceremony are: Sixth Grade – Kinlee Bowman, Anthony Joseph Colombo, Cody Harral, Hannah Holcomb, Luke Holik, Haley Matschek, Clarice McKinnon, Carrie Medrano, Nicole Rouse, Cole Zentner. Seventh Grade – Emma Duke, Lauren Landers, Bryla Perkins, Stephanie Reyna. Eighth Grade – Jacob Daniels, Hannah Heidenheimer.