The 7-on-7 Division II state tournament pools are expected to be released Sunday as only two openings remain among the field of 64 teams. A ‘last chance’ tournament will be held in Whitney today to round out the tournament field.

The Brownwood Lions secured their 14th consecutive appearance at state on May 25 in their first outing of the summer at the Gatesville qualifier. The Lions have posted an 11-2 record in state qualifying games and are coming off an undefeated pool play performance in their own tournament this past Saturday with victories over Stephenville (55-6), Midland Christian (38-33) and Troy (44-21).

The Bangs Dragons will also be among the state field, qualifying at the Brownwood tournament this past weekend. The Dragons posted a 3-1 record, defeating Tolar (48-26), Midland Greenwood (39-14) and Llano (45-28) in the semifinals to clinch. Bangs’ only loss came to Dublin by a 27-26 count.

The other 60 teams who have already qualified in Division II include Abilene Wylie, Alpine, Altair Rice, Anna, Argyle, Bandera, Boerne, Booker, Boyd, Burnet, Cameron, Canton, Carthage, Celina, Coleman, College Station, Columbus, Crandall, Crane, Crockett, Dallas Episcopal, Dublin, East Bernard, Eastland, Edna, Fairfield, Gatesville, Gilmer, Graham, Grandview, Houston Episcopal, Houston Kinkaid, Houston Westbury, Ingleside, Iowa Park, Iraan, Jasper, Kaufman, Kountze, La Grange, La Marque, Lorena, McGregor, Melissa, Mexia, Midland Christian, Navasota, Port Isabel, Rockdale, Salado, Somerset, Sonora, Springtown, Stephenville, Tyler Chapel Hill, Wellington, White Oak, Wills Point, Wimberley and Yoakum.

The 7-on-7 Division II state tournament will be played Thursday, July 11 and Friday, July 12 in Round Rock at the Southwest Williamson County Regional Park, located at 3005 County Road 175.

Brownwood will be seeking its second 7-on-7 Division II championship, having earned the crown in 2010 at College Station. Bangs has not won a state championship and its making just its second trip to the state tournament, having last qualified in 2011.