Although the weather has been a little fickle, to say the least, area bass anglers are having a pretty good year, overall. 

The Brownwood Bass Club's May tournament on Ivie had a total of 28 anglers, including two ladies and two juniors. 49 fish were weighed for 97.59 pounds, just a few ounces shy of a two-pound average.

Robert Brown had the heaviest stringer at 12.03 and the Big Bass at 6.79. Rounding tout the top six were Danny Webb, James Mann, Mark Doremus, Tony Sanchez, and Brandon Anglin. Jennetta Toeppich led the women's division.

The open division top ten in the year-to-date standings for the Brownwood Bass Club are Webb with 39.5 pounds, Steve Butler, Brown, Anglin, Raymond Ivy, Ben Villalpando, Joey Wynn, Doremus, Sanchez, and Kaylom Campbell.

The ladies division leaders are Jennetta Toeppich, Phyllis Crable, Tommie Miranda, Donna Hair, and Taylor Vasquez.

Charlie Smith, Kyra Smith, Cooper Francis, and J.T. Moreno are the top four in the junior division.

Steve Butler leads the Big Bass of the Year and Individual Stringer of the Year, 8.97 and 38.38 pounds, respectively. 

Robert and Burl Brown have boated the heaviest team stringer at 14.68 pounds, so far.

The Club's next tournament is June 1 on Lake Leon. Registration is at Sportsman Center, before 6 p.m. May 31.


Last week's Wednesday jackpot on Lake Brownwood attracted 22 anglers, 20 of whom weighed 43 fish for 104.67 pounds. Battling gusty winds, Taylor Darden's 6.4 pound Big Bass brought his winning stringer to 9.6 pounds. Less than two ounces separated Joey Wynn from Darden, followed by Jack Saling, Tony Jones, Steven Armstrong, and Wes Michael. Collin Michael won the junior division with 4.9 pounds, followed by Alieya Isom.

Jeff Windham is at the top of the Big Bass of the Year and Big Stringer of the Year leader boards, with 6.58 and 13.23 pounds. 

Wes Michael heads up the year-to-date standings with 65.85 pounds. The rest of the top ten are Jeff Windham, Danny Armstrong, Joey Wynn, Brad Windham, Brandon Anglin, Steven Armstrong, Taylor Darden, Justin Hall, and Jack Saling.