Republican Dawn Buckingham of Austin defeated Democrat Virginia “Jenny Lou” Leeder of Llano Tuesday in the race for Texas Senate District 24.
    In the race for U.S. House District 11, Republican incumbent Mike Conaway held a large lead over Libertarian challenger Nicholas Landholt.
    In Brown County, four candidates each were elected in the Zephyr and Brookesmith school board races, and in Blanket, voters approved by a wide margin the sale of beer and wine for off-premises consumption.
    In the Zephyr school board race, the four winners were John Moody, with 160 votes; Becky Cornelius, with 144 votes; Torrey McClain, with 127 votes; and Ricky Simpson, with 115 votes, according to unofficial results from the Brown County Elections Administration office.
    The four winners in the Brookesmith school board race were Wendy Harris ,with 151 votes; Jim Bob Bradley, with 150 votes; Scott Burns, with 145 votes; and Terry Been, with 123 votes.
    The Blanket vote was 109 for, and 26 against.
    Buckingham released a statement Tuesday night after her victory.
    “Today starts a new chapter in Texas history,” Buckingham said. “Our conservative message of lower taxes, immigration reform, better health care and expanded educational opportunities resonated with voters throughout our district. As a result, I am humbled to be the first woman elected to represent Senate District 24, and the first Republican elected to the Texas Senate from Travis County in our state’s history.
    “We started this run for the Texas Senate to make a positive impact on the lives of millions of Texans. We thank the Lord our God for His guidance, for our friends who believed in us, and for our family and staff who sacrificed with us along the way.”
    In the U.S. District 11 race, Conaway led Landholt 145,441 votes to 15,843 votes with 224 of 303 precincts reporting, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s website.