The Central Texas College (CTC) Police Academy held a graduation ceremony last week at the Anderson Campus Center for cadets completing the 19-week, 720-hour Basic Peace Officer course. All of the cadets in the Delta class passed the state licensing exam prior to graduation with a class average of nearly 87 percent and are now qualified to become peace officers in Texas. Included in the graduating class were new Brownwood police officers Jaylen Bocknite and Zachary Davis.


During the ceremony, several awards of achievement were presented. Garrick Glover of the Temple Police Department earned the academic honors award and the Top Gear award for best driving competency. Winner of the Charles “Chuck” Dinwiddie Top Gun award for best firearms proficiency was Christopher Camden of the Bell County Sheriff’s Office. Selected class president by her peers was Diana Timmerman of the Copperas Cove Police Department. The cadets voted John Wilkerson of the Bell County Sheriff’s Office the winner of the Best Instructor award.


Throughout the course, cadets were subjected to numerous written exams and extensive hands-on training in defensive tactics, firearms and police vehicle operation. In addition, classroom work included victims’ rights, Texas Penal Code, Texas Traffic Code, Texas Family Code, criminal investigation, stress management, problem solving and more. The class average for all CTC Police Academy exams was 97 percent.


Graduates of the CTC Police Academy Basic Peace Officer 2019-Delta course were Megan Adkins and Travis Lock – Belton Police Department; Jaylen Bocknite and Zachary Davis – Brownwood Police Department; Chistopher Camden, Terrell Jennings and Jessica Ruiz – Bell County Sheriff’s Office; Miguel Gonzalez, and Diana Timmerman – Copperas Cove Police Department; William Nicholas, Jr. – Lampasas Police Department; Dusty Davis, DFW Airport Police Department; Kyle Eubanks, Garrick Glover, Dustin Hewett, Daniel Kala, Zachary Cook, and Alanna Sweeney – Temple Police Department; Gregory Bauman, Jonathan Hole and Kooper Wendler – self-sponsored.