With a week and a day left until the deadline to file to run for election, three races – so far – are contested in the Republican Primary. Candidates have until Jan. 4 to file. The primary election will be March 2.

Republican candidate Joe Cooksey will challenge incumbent Ray West in the county judge election; Clifton Karnes will challenge incumbent Ann Krpoun for the county treasurer post; and Mike Barr will challenge incumbent Bryan Thompson in the Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace race, all in the Republican primary. And while those are the only three contested races, at least one person has filed for each of positions scheduled for the election with the Republican party. No Democrats have filed for a county position other than for party or precinct chairman.

Previously reported filings for the county include: Frank Griffin, incumbent county court-at-law judge; Jan Brown, incumbent district clerk; Sharon Ferguson, incumbent county clerk; Walter Croft, incumbent Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace; Bob Wall, incumbent Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace; and Jim Cavanaugh, incumbent Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace. Joel Kelton and Larry Traweek have filed for county commissioner, Precincts 2 and 4, respectively. Kelton and Traweek are incumbents as well.

Democrats Eva Stuart and A.J. Dickerson have filed for election as chairmen of precincts 214 and 306 respectively, and David Bullion has filed to run for Brown County Democrat Party Chairman.

  State Rep. Jim Keffer of Eastland filed earlier to run for re-election of House District 60.

  U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway of Midland also filed earlier to run again in District 11.

Candidates for county offices should file their intention to seek office in party primaries with county party chairmen. At the district and state levels, candidates should file with state election officials in Austin.