Special to the Bulletin

Lions Club Past District Governor Zac Gray told 29 graduating seniors from 17 area high schools, “Your definition of pressure is about to change.”

Gray addressed the seniors, their parents/guardians, counselors and administrators at the annual Lake Brownwood Lions Club Scholarship Awards Banquet May 3.

Gray, a longtime Lions Club activist from Brady, said, “No pressure is a test tomorrow or a paper due at the end of the week. But real pressure is three kids, no job and a spouse in the hospital.” But, he suggested, “With an education you will be better equipped to deal with life’s real pressures — and they will come and you will be tested.”

Gray also took the opportunity to discuss Lions Clubs’ mission worldwide in 196 countries. He specifically alluded to Brownwood’s Dr. Steve Kelly’s work restoring sight to cataract patients from Central America.

“If you put the word ‘Lionism’ in your computer, WordPerfect would spit it out and say there is no such word. But Lionism means simply ‘We serve,’ and that mission is why we are here tonight and why people like Dr. Kelly do what they do as service to their fellow man.”

Lake Brownwood Lions awarded $500 scholarships to each of the 29 seniors being honored.

Gray concluded by saying, “If you take that scholarship, devise a plan and follow it, no job will be too good for you. Your parents and teachers are proud of you today. Go out and make us all proud of you tomorrow.”

Lions Club Scholarship awardees, their high schools and intended colleges include:

Bangs: Brent Troyer, Tarleton State; and Amanda Sikes, Angelo State.

Blanket: Courtney Doss, TSTC/Brownwood; and James Bowden, Angelo State.

Brookesmith: Daniel Kinnibrugh, Angelo State; and Takota Richardson, Angelo State.

Brownwood: Joshua Westerman, Tarleton State.

Coleman: Yue “Peter” Yu, University of Texas/Austin; and Emma Dyer, Savannah College of Art and Design.

Early: Levi Walls, Tarleton State; and Heather Wooten, University of North Texas.

May: Chelsea Murphree, Howard Payne; and Courtney Hallum, Texas A&M.

Mullin: Lindsey Greer, Cisco Junior College/Abilene; and Holly Barrios, TSTC/


Novice: Ashley Belk, Lubbock Christian University.

Panther Creek: Shaina Brown, Angelo State; and Jake Stephenson, Tarleton State.

Priddy: Jessica Rhoades, TSTC/Brownwood.

Rising Star: Skylar McGinn, Cisco Junior College; and Trey Foster, Tarleton State

Santa Anna: Michelle Wetsel, Angelo State; and Peyton Kuykendall, Angelo State.

Sidney: Megan Norvill, Angelo State.

Star: Hector Garcia, TSTC/Brownwood.

Zephyr: Anngina Curl, Ranger Junior College; and Rickey De Hay II, Devry University.