From AP and Staff Reports

LAS VEGAS – J.W. Harris wrapped up his second straight world bull riding title Friday night despite failing to earn any money during the first nine rounds of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

Harris, from May, Texas, equaled a feat accomplished last by bull rider Bill Nelson, who won the 1971 title without earning any money in the finals — then held in Oklahoma City.

Harris broke his right (riding) hand in the second round, and hasn’t completed a qualified ride. Freckles Brown (1962) is the only bull rider to win a world championship without completing a ride at the NFR. After missing four rounds, Harris was bucked off Hawaiian Ivory in the ninth round.

“It’s all the hard work throughout the year,” Harris said. “It just proves that rodeo is 365 days a year. You have to go all year, and I did give myself a cushion in case something did happen I would be all right. I would have liked to finish 10-for-10, but stuff happens.”

In the ninth round, Cody Hancock of Taylor, Ariz., had a winning 89.5-point ride on Balistic, then was taken to the hospital after sustaining a concussion.

Bobby Welsh of Gillette, Wyo., fifth with an 83 on Crazy Train, has covered a rodeo-high five bulls and leads the aggregate race with 398.5 points. Corey Navarre of Weatherford, Okla., was $70,265 behind Harris with one round left.

In team roping, world header leader Chad Masters of Clarksville, Texas, and heeler leader Jade Corkill of Fallon, Nev., won with a world-record time of 3.3 seconds.

Just minutes before Masters and Corkill recorded their record time, header JoJo LeMond of Andrews, Texas, and Randon Adams of Logandale, Nev., set a world record with a 3.4, which ended up giving them second place in the round.

Masters has earned $167,004, and Corkill has made $157,532.

“It’s extremely big for us,” Masters said. “We kind of got ourselves in a bind earlier in the week, and we might not still have much of a chance, but to have any chance at all we figured we’d have to win the last two rounds. To have to be 3.3 to do it; you’d almost think it isn’t possible. But we lucked out and it turned out it was possible after all.”

Header Luke Brown of Rock Hill, S.C., and Martin Lucero of Stephenville, Texas, lead the aggregate score standings with a time of 45.1 over nine rides.

Brown and Lucero, who didn’t place among the top six with a time of 5.3 in round nine, are making a run at the aggregate record of 59.1 on 10 head in 1994 held by Jake Barnes and Clay O’Brien Cooper. Only four teams in NFR history have managed a 10-head time of less than 64 seconds. Brown and Lucero needed to only average 9.6 over their last two rounds to take over the record.

In bareback riding, Bobby Mote of Culver, Ore., won with an 86.5 on Coconut Roll. He has had at least a share of first place in three of the last four rounds.

Clint Cannon of Waller, Texas, who set a PRCA record for most regular-season money won in any event with $233,504, stayed in first in the world standings with $266,585. Cannon didn’t place among the top six in round nine, so second-place Mote moved closer to the lead with $249,125, which includes an NFR-best $78,786. Mote has the aggregate score lead with 758.5 points on nine rides compared to second-place Jason Havens of Prineville, Ore., with 743 points on nine rides.

Both Cannon and Mote are in position to break Will Lowe’s single-season earnings record of $280,227 during the 10th and final round Saturday.

In steer wrestling, Casey McMillen of Craig, Colo., won in 3.3 seconds.

Lee Graves of Calgary, Alberta, remained in the world lead with $196,849 after finishing in a tie for third at 3.8. Luke Branquinho of Los Alamos, Calif., after finishing second in round nine in 3.5, was second in the standings with $196,039.

Branquinho leads both the aggregate score with a time of 37.5 over nine rounds and the NFR earnings with $83,486. Graves was second in NFR earnings with $76,275.

In saddle bronc, J.J. Elshere of Quinn, S.D., won with an 86 on Griz.

World leader Jesse Kruse of Great Falls, Mont., didn’t place among the top six. Kruse has earned $169,309, while second-place Elshere has made $153,068, including an event-best $66,162 at the NFR.

Cody DeMoss of Heflin, La., fourth with an 84 on Let ‘er Rip, took over first place in the aggregate race with a score of 725 points over nine rounds.

In tie-down roping, Clint Robinson of Spanish Fork, Utah, and Justin Maass of Giddings, Texas, tied for first with times of 7.3.

Tuf Cooper of Decatur, Texas, who didn’t place with a time of 9.2, held on to the aggregate score lead with a time of 76.9 over nine rounds. Cooper still has a shot at breaking Fred Whitfield’s 1997 tie-down roping record of 84.0 on 10 head.

Trevor Brazile of Decatur, Texas, who placed sixth in 7.9, remained the world leader with $167,610. Robinson stayed in second in the standings with $147,805.

In barrel racing, Cassie Moseley of Farwell, Texas, finished first in 13.74 while 2007 world champion Brittany Pozzi of Victoria, Texas, placed second in 13.88 and moved into first place in the world standings.

Pozzi has earned a first-place total of $241,009, while defending world champion Lindsay Sears of Nanton, Alberta, who didn’t place in the top six with a time of 14.12, was second in the world standings with $232,259.

In all-around, Brazile has earned $326,046 and remained in first place in his bid for his seventh world title. He has exceeded $300,000 a record four years in a row. Josh Peek of Pueblo, Colo., was second with $210,789.