The Brownwood school board will be able to fill this year’s expiring term without an election after no challengers filed to contest the three incumbents. But elections will be required on Nov. 4 to choose members of school boards in Brookesmith, May and Zephyr.

Trustees are allowed to declare uncontested candidates elected by resolution under state law, and Brownwood Superintendent Reece Blincoe said Wednesday the board will probably be asked to take such action at its September meeting. The deadline to file for the Nov. 4 passed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

House Bill 1 from last year’s legislature requires school districts to hold joint elections with either a city or county that shares jurisdiction. That has prompted several school systems to alter the terms of their trustees from three years to four, while also changing the month of elections from May to November.

Other school districts in the county did not have to change their traditional May elections in order to comply with the state law because municipal elections in their communities are timed in a way that corresponds to their schedules during election years.

Here’s a summary of election filings from the four school districts, as provided Wednesday by their respective administrative offices:


Under a plan adopted last October by the Brownwood Independent School District, trustees in single-member Districts 2 (Nesa Morelock), 4 (Eric Evans) and 5 (Michael Coppic) will be up for election this year. Trustees in Districts 1 (John Nickols), 3 (Roderick Jones), 6 (Dr. Justin Murphy) and 7 (Mark Bradshaw) will be up in 2010.

School administration officials said all three incumbents have filed for new terms, and no challengers filed.


All four incumbents on the Brookesmith school board whose terms expire this year have filed for re-election, and four more candidates have also filed. Incumbents are Terry C. Been, Bill Means, Brian Mackey and Wendy Harris. Billy Dougherty, Tony Nelson, Donald Seamans and D.M. Tibbitts have also filed for places on the ballot.


In the May Independent School District, four board positions are up for election. The three full-term places up for election on Nov. 4 are held by Tony Wade, Joe Crume and Jeff Phillips.

An unexpired term, currently held by Jeff Hoskinson, will also be on the ballot. That term will expire in 2010.

May ISD incumbents running for three full-term positions are Jeff Phillips and Jeff Hoskinson, plus candidates Katherine Lord, Donny Graves and Todd Kilgo. The candidate for election to one unexpired term position is Joe Crume, who is currently on the board.


Five candidates will be seeking a total of four full four-year terms on the Zephyr school board.

Four full four-year terms and one unexpired term are open this year on the Zephyr school board, and three incumbents - Becky Cornelius, Kenny King and Ricky Simpson - have filed for re-election. Newcomers Stephen Petty and John D. Rockafellow will also be on the ballot.

Nick Allgood is unopposed as a candidate for an unexpired term.

Trustees David Long and R.C. Owens will not seek new terms.