It comes twice a year and quite simply, there’s nothing like it.

National Signing Day is a nationwide event that celebrates high school athletes as they ink their names official in the next step of their journey.

Prosper held its day on Wednesday at the Prosper High School gym, with nine students participating.

Girls soccer players Gabby Gamboa, Katie Lapomarda and Haley Birmingham, and football players Drevyn Boyd, Everett Jefferson, John Brannon, Travis Dafft, Jayden Ford and Andrik Ortiz were all honored with signing opportunities.

Gabby Gamboa (Northwestern State): As a junior, Gamboa scored nine goals and added nine assists as the Eagles won a school record 19 games including their first playoff game in program history. Gamboa finished on the all-district second team. Northwestern State, located in Natchitoches, Louisiana, finished 10-8-1 this past season and 7-3-1 in the Southland Conference.

Katie Lapomarda (University of San Diego): Lapomarda made all-district first team as a junior with five goals and three assists and a number of defensive plays that helped the Eagles to such a successful season. She scored three times on Jan. 7, once against A&M Consolidated and twice versus Clear Creek. Lapomarda added another score last week against R.L Turner. San Diego went 10-8-1 and 5-4 in conference play.

Haley Birmingham (TCU): Birmingham has been one half of the dynamic duo of Birmingham and Peyton York in the net. The Eagles are 12-0 on the season with 11 shutouts, allowing only a single goal all season long, thanks to the defense as Birmingham and York, who last year shared the District Goalie of the Year award. She will stay close to home at TCU, where the Horned Frogs went 12-7-2 and 2-5-1 in the Big 12.

Drevyn Boyd (Mary Hardin Baylor): Boyd played cornerback for the Eagles and made all-district second team. The Cru, located in Belton, Texas, went a perfect 15-0 and beat Wisconsin-Oshkosh 10-7 on Dec. 16 to win Stagg Bowl XLIV (Division III) and the program’s first national title.

Everett Jefferson (Texas State): Jefferson, the football and basketball star, is headed to San Marcos and a Bobcats program that is trying to make a turnaround after a 2-10 season, 0-8 in the Sun Belt. Jefferson was all-district first team after leading the Eagles to a co-district title and eight touchdown receptions.

John Brannon (Texas State): Brannon follows Jefferson’s footsteps to San Marcos after a very successful career with the Eagles. Brannon was voted District 14-5A Defensive MVP in the fall as well as all-state second team. In 2015, Brannon was all-district second team.

Travis Dafft (Texas A&M Commerce): The offensive lineman Dafft leaves Prosper as a two-time all-district selection (second team as a junior and first as a senior). He was also all-state honorable mention in 2016. Commerce went 11-2 and 8-1 in conference. In the Division II playoffs, the Lions beat No. 5 Colorado Mesa 34-23 in the first round before being eliminated by No. 1 Grand Valley State 55-32 on Nov. 26.

Jayden Ford (Henderson State): Ford was all-district honorable mention as a linebacker and heads to Arkadelphia, Arkansas to a Reddies program that went 8-3 in 2016.

Andrik Ortiz (Arizona Christian): Ortiz was all-district honorable mention as a defensive lineman and heads to Phoenix to a 7-3 squad, 6-0 in conference play.