Seven Dragons, four Longhorns receive postseason honors

Bangs senior Colton Brewer was selected the District 6-3A MVP, one of seven Dragons to receive all-district baseball honors. The Early Longhorns had four players chosen for the team.

Joining Brewer from Bangs were first-team choices junior pitcher Austin Hall, freshman infielder Ethan Sanchez, senior outfielder Steven Montgomery and senior catcher Zach Zink. Second-team picks for the Dragons were sophomore infielder Eli Carbajal and senior outfielder Kaden Richards.

For Early, first-team honorees were senior infielder Chase Keilers, senior outfielder Ryan Hill and junior designated hitter Jonathan Morales, while senior infielder Devyn Burns made the second team.

Other superlative award winners were co-offensive MVPs Josh Hanes of Dublin and Bronte Hermesmeyer of Comanche; co-defensive MVPs Walker Bauer of Brady and Rayce Jackson of Dublin; pitcher of the year Tim Teten of Dublin; and Newcomer of the Year Tyler Vaughn of Brady.

The Dragons (7-14, 5-5), under head coach Keith Meador, finished as the fourth seed from District 6-3A and were bi-district finalists. The Longhorns (7-11, 4-6), under head coach Todd Hatton, were fifth place team in the district and missed the playoffs.