SIDNEY — The Blanket Tigers put the finishing touches on a perfect regular season and clinched their first district championship since 2014, routing the Sidney Eagles, 52-6, Friday in the 15-A Division II and regular season finale.

The Tigers (10-0, 4-0) will be back at home to begin postseason play as they host District 16 runner-up Panther Creek (5-4) at 6:30 p.m. Thursday.

In the win over Sidney, the Tigers jumped out to an 18-0 lead after one quarter, outscored Sidney (7-3, 2-2) by a 28-6 count in the second period and added a final touchdown in the third.

Blanket amassed 329 yards, with 320 coming on the ground, and committed just one turnover, while limiting Sidney to 85 total yards, including 78 passing, with a pair of takeaways.

Kameron Spivey led the charge on the ground with 285 rushing yards and six touchdowns, scoring on carries of 7, 1, 1, 35, 33, and 30 yards.

John John Alexander competed two passes for 9 yards, with a long of 10 to Tyler Simpson. Hector Castaneda chipped in 18 yards rushing and Simpson ran for 17 yards.

Defensively, Spivey tallied with 10 tackles, including two for loss, while Simpson and Tanner Isom contributed eight tackles apiece.

For Sidney, Triston Kelly scored the lone touchdown on a 41-yard reception from Josh Kinnard. Kelly finished with three grabs for 55 yards while Kinnard was 4 of 14 for 78 yards. Kinnard was also the leading rusher with just 6 yards on nine carries, while Dennis Morales was limited to 1 yard on three attempts.


Richland Springs 75, Rochelle 22


RICHLAND SPRINGS — The Class A Division II No. 10 Richland Springs Coyotes wrapped up their 17th consecutive district championship with their 73rd league victory in a row, 75-22 over Rochelle Friday night.

The Coyotes (9-1), champions of District 16-A Division II, will face 15-A runner-up Brookesmith (6-3) in bi-district playoff action at 6:30 p.m. Friday at Zephyr.

In Friday’s winner over Rochelle (2-8), Richland Springs scored 43 points in the first quarter and added 32 more in the second before ended the game at halftime due to the 45-point mercy rule.

The Coyotes finished with 255 yards of total offense — 130 rushing and 125 passing — while allowing 159 yards, all on the ground. Richland Springs also created three turnovers, all fumble recoveries.

Matthew Rigdon completed touchdowns of 43 yards to Griffin Rigdon and 28 yards to Jared Martin on his only two pass attempts, and rushed once for 44 yards and another score. Noah Rigdon added 37 yards and a touchdown on the ground while Cameron Parham and Josiah Beam contributed touchdown carries of 35 and 14 yards, respectively. Parham also caught a 54-yard touchdown from Wade Appleton on his only pass attempt.

Defensively, Griffin Rigdon and Parham scored following fumble recovery returns of 30 and 8 yards, respectively, and Jayden Bryant added a 50-yard kick return for a touchdown.

Appleton led the Coyotes with five tackles followed by Parham with four, T.J. Grant with three and Lane Garcia with a pair.


San Saba 62, De Leon 12


SAN SABA — The Class 2A Division I No. 5 San Saba Armadillos capped an undefeated regular season and secured their first district championship since 2012 with a 62-12 victory over the De Leon Bearcats Friday night in a winner-take-all 7-2A showdown.

Leading just 14-12 after one quarter, San Saba (10-0, 5-0) outscored De Leon (6-4, 4-1) by a 34-0 count in the second period to open a 48-12 halftime advantage. The Armadillos added two more touchdowns in the third quarter to round out the scoring.

San Saba generated 479 yards of total offense — 309 on the ground and 170 through air.

Eli Salinas rushed for 134 yards and three touchdowns while quarterback Sean O’Keefe chipped in 122 yards on the ground and two scores.

O’Keefe also contributed 155 passing yards, completing 6 of 12 attempts with two touchdowns — both to Logan Glover covering 74 and 35 yards. Joseph Watson added three grabs for 32 yards while Risien Shahan and Abel Martinez caught passes of 15 and 14 yards, respectively.

Defensively, Erik Argote led the way with 10 tackles, including three for loss, followed by Glover and Sakima Herrera with nine apiece. Glover also intercepted three passes while O’Keefe picked off one.

Next, the Armadillos open postseason play against District 8-2A Division I fourth seed Italy (4-5) at 7 p.m. Thursday in Copperas Cove.


Comanche 22, Tolar 14


TOLAR — The Comanche Indians secured a third consecutive district championship, completing the 6-3A Division II slate with an unblemished record after Friday’s 22-14 victory over the Tolar Rattlers.

Comanche (7-3, 5-0) will open the playoffs at 7 p.m. Friday in Mineral Wells against District 5-3A Division II fourth seed Nocona.

Further information on Comanche’s win over Tolar was unavailable at press time.


Valley Mills 55, Goldthwaite 14


GOLDTHWAITE — The Goldthwaite Eagles concluded their season with an eighth consecutive loss as the Valley Mills Eagles clinched the fourth and final playoff berth from District 7-2A Division I with a 55-14 victory Friday night.

Goldthwaite (1-9, 0-5) finished with 188 yards — 130 passing and 58 rushing — and two turnovers, while allowing Valley Mills (5-5, 2-3) to gain 502 yards, with 445 coming on the ground.

Goldthwaite fell behind 28-0 in the first period, but scored twice in the second quarter a 2-yard run by quarterback Drew Hermesmeyer and a 6-yard pass from Hermesmeyer to Jaxon Wootton.

Hermesmeyer completed 16 of 29 passes for 95 yards with one touchdown and one interception, while Wootton connected on a pair of pass attempts covering 35 yards.

T.J. Watson grabbed eight receptions for 58 yards, Wootton finished with six for 39 and a touchdown and Grayson Moore caught four passes covering 33 yards.

Angel Morales paced the rushing attack with 39 yards.

Goldthwaite’ school record of 14 consecutive playoff berths ended this year.


Lometa 66, Zephyr 44


LOMETA — Zephyr was stunned by the Lometa Hornets, 66-44, Friday night — one of two upsets in District 15-A Division I in Week 11 that will result in the Bulldogs missing the playoffs.

With the loss, Zephyr finished at 6-4 overall and just 1-2 in district with the lone win being a 71-22 decision over Evant. But Evant shocked Jonesboro, 52-40, Friday to improve to 8-2 overall and 2-1 in district, tying Jonesboro (6-4, 2-1).

Due to the head-to-head victory, the Elks will go into the playoffs as the district champion while the Eagles will be the No. 2 seed. Zephyr finished tied with Lometa (3-7, 1-2) for third place.

Stats from Zephyr’s game were unavailable at press time.


Other scores

(No info reported)

Gorman 63, Santa Anna 14

Merkel 46, Coleman 7