The Bangs Dragons received 12 accolades, including a pair of superlative awards, on the 4-3A Division II all-district roster, which was released this week.

Junior running back Ethan Sanchez was selected as the Offensive MVP while freshman running back/receiver Guy Powell was tabbed as Newcomer of the Year. Sanchez finished with 1,212 rushing yards and 20 touchdowns, eight catches for 155 yards and went 2 for 2 through air for 63 yards with a touchdown. Powell tallied 440 yards and two touchdowns on the ground, caught a team-high 17 passes for 216 yards and three scores and returned multiple kicks for touchdowns.

The Dragons earned two first-team selections, both on defense, in senior outside linebacker Eli Carbajal and junior defensive lineman Hayden King.

Carbajal collected 52.5 tackles with five for loss, one sack and one interception, while King compiled a team-best 74 tackles with six for loss and a pair of sacks.

Second-team choices included junior quarterback Brayton Wedeman, senior receiver Wesley Mitchell, King at tight end, and junior lineman Trey Ivey on offense, along with junior secondary member Trevor Bowers and senior lineman Cael John on defense.

Wedeman passed for 812 yards with 10 touchdowns and six interceptions while rushing for 654 yards and 11 scores. Mitchell finished with 14 catches for 263 yards and six touchdowns while King chipped in two catches for 27 yards. Ivey helped pave the way for an offense that averaged 33 points and 307 yards — 228 rushing and 79 passing — per game.

Bowers tallied 26.5 tackles for a Dragon defense that gave up 23 points and 282 yards — 185 rushing and 97 passing — per game, while John finished with 23 tackles including four for loss with one sack and one interception.

Receiving honorable mention for the Dragons were junior offensive lineman Samuel Packer and senior defensive back Riley Taylor (52 tackles, three fumble recoveries, one interception).

The rest of the superlative award winners were Co-MVPs Stanley Callahan of Cisco and Drew Hagler of Anson; Defensive MVP Cooper Bean of Ballinger; Lineman MVP Adam Winn of Ballinger; and Utility Player of the Year Cam Nichols of Cisco.

The first-team offense was comprised of quarterbacks Gibson Hearne of Cisco and Tyler Vaughn of Ballinger; fullbacks Isaac Acosta of Cisco and Garrett Dixon of Ballinger; receivers Weston Rollwitz of Ballinger, Daniel Davis of Anson, Isaac Fernandez of Anson, and Jalen Holloway of Coleman; tight end Dax Brunson of Cisco; linemen Eric Tolliver of Ballinger, Eddie Hernandez, Caleb Moreno and Kolby Griffin of Anson, Koby Cordero and Trevor Fox of Cisco, and Kyle Owens of Merkel; and punter Gibson Hearne of Cisco.

The rest of the first-team defense featured defensive backs Dawson White and Gibson Hearne of Cisco, Bradyn Bowman and Weston Rollwitz of Ballinger, Isaac Fernandez and Daniel Davis of Anson, and D'Alan Cotton of Merkel; inside linebackers Kyle St. John of Anson and Dawson Hearne of Cisco; outside linebacker Garrett Dixon of Ballinger; ends Wyatt Whitaker of Anson and Dax Brunson of Cisco; linemen Joe Galvan of Anson, Kody Codero of Cisco, and Bobby Burrow of Coleman; and kicker Mason Hagler of Anson.

The remainder of the second-team offense was comprised of quarterback Jorge Rodriguez of Grape Creek; running backs Ike Sebastian of Merkel and Gage Sikes of Coleman; receivers Dylan Pyle and Julian Garcia of Anson, and Stephen Bird of Cisco; linemen Colton Belk and Fernando Falcon of Ballinger, Austin Escobar of Merkel, Arnulfo Hernandez of San Angelo TLCA, Gilbert Espita of Coleman, and Wyatt Whitaker and Kyle St. John of Anson.

Making up the rest of the second-team defense were secondary members Dylan Pyle and Julian Garcia of Anson, Corbin Rosales of Coleman, and J.J. Meyers of Merkel; inside linebackers Shawn McFadden of Merkel, Alden Busenlehnen of Ballinger, Jacob Garza of Anson, Isaiah Briones of Grape Creek, Isaac Acosta of Cisco and Eddie Carranco of San Angelo TLCA; outside linebacker R.J. Wright of Coleman; and linemen Markus Castleberry of Ballinger, Caden Burleson of Cisco and Brock Bouldin of Coleman.

The Dragons finished the season with a 6-5 overall record, 4-3 in District 4-3A Division II, and made their first postseason appearance since 2014 under head coach Kyle Maxfield.