Coming off an 11-win campaign, 5-4A Division I runner-up finish and three-round deep run in the postseason, the Brownwood Lions earned 17 all-district football honors.

Three Lions garnered superlative awards as senior running back Reece Rodgers was chosen as Offensive MVP, senior inside linebacker Rowdee Gregory was selected Defensive MVP and sophomore center Ethan Pesina was tabbed Offensive Newcomer of the Year.

Rodgers rushed for 1,902 yards and 28 touchdowns on 233 carries — an average 146 yards per game and 8.2 yards per tote — along with 12 receptions for 121 yards and a touchdown.

Gregory, who earlier this week received Class 4A all-state honorable mention by the Associated Press, led the Lions with 14.5 tackles for loss, ranked second with 103 tackles overall and contributed 2.5 sacks, two fumble recoveries and an interception return for a touchdown.

Pesina was an anchor along the offensive front as Brownwood averaged 35.9 points and 391.4 yards — 222.2 rushing and 169.2 passing — per game.

Landing on the first-team offense for Brownwood were senior quarterback Drew Huff (113 of 186 for 2,101 yards, 19 TDs, 3 INTs passing; 716 yards, 9 TDs rushing); senior wide receiver Zach Strong (19-337 yards, 3 TDs); senior inside receiver A.J. McCarty (44-1,026 yards, 11 TDs); senior offensive tackle Theo Bryant; and junior guard Brad Robinson.

First-team defensive honorees were Bryant (54 tackles, 5.5 TFL, 4.5 sacks, 1 INT, 2 FRs) at defensive end; junior cornerback Royshad Henderson (52 tackles, 1 TFL); junior safety Khyren Deal (100 tackles, 0.5 TFL); and senior long snapper Landon Harris.

Making the second-team offense from Brownwood were Harris (2 catches for 37 yards, 1 TD) at fullback and senior inside receiver Isyah Campos (12-250 yards, 2 TDs).

Second-team defensive choices were senior inside linebacker Cooper Swanzy (108 tackles, 3.5 TFL, 1 FR); senior outside linebacker Damion Jones (75 tackles, 1 sack, 5 TFL, 2 INTs); and junior defensive tackle Kris Hobbs (94 tackles, 5 TFL, 1.5 sacks, 2 FRs) — all part of a unit that allowed 14.6 points and 265.4 yards — 145 rushing and 120.4 passing — per game with 21 takeaways, four defensive touchdowns and four shutouts.

Other 5-4A Division I superlative award winners included La Vega's Landry Kinne and Elisha Cummings as District Co-MVPs, China Spring's Major Bowden as Defensive Newcomer of the Year, and La Vega's Don Hyde as Coach of the Year.

The rest of the first-team offense included quarterback Kade Renfro from Stephenville; running back Jar'Que Walton of La Vega; fullback Quentin Walker of Stephenville; wide receivers Malachi Wright of La Vega and Trace Morrison of Stephenville; inside receiver DeMicco Chambliss of La Vega; tight end Asher Dittfurth of Stephenville; guard Damion Brown of La Vega; center James Baggett of La Vega; punter Trace Morrison of Stephenville; utility player K.J. Peoples of China Spring; and returner Major Bowden of China Spring.

Rounding out the first-team defense were inside linebackers La'Travius Johnson of La Vega and Colton Accomazzo of Stephenville; outside linebackers DeMarquese Hayes and Jordan Rogers, both of La Vega; end De'Treveon Thompson of La Vega; tackles Vernon Walker of La Vega and Daniel Luna of Stephenville; cornerbacks Marcus Willis of La Vega and Jacob Kuligowski of China Spring; safety Ara Rauls of La Vega; utility player Keyon Reese of La Vega; and kicker Trace Morris of Stephenville.

Completing the second-team offense were quarterback Brayden Faulkner of China Spring; running back Kason Phillips of Stephenville and Emmanuel Abdullah of China Spring; inside receiver Jacob Kuligowski of China Spring; tight end Ivan Curl of La Vega; tackles Adrian Cervantes of Stephenville and Andrew Brown of La Vega; guards Logan Davis and Jabril Powell of China Spring, and Reggie Brown of La Vega; centers Evan Hanson of Gatesville and Caleb Smith of Stephenville; punter Aveyn Sarinana of Gatesville; utility player Tyler Godfrey of Gatesville; and returner Gavin Rountree of Stephenville.

The remainder of the second-team defense was comprised of inside linebackers Zach Bates of Gatesville and Tristyn Pechacek of China Spring; outside linebacker Quentin Walker of Stephenville; ends RaeShawn Roberts of La Vega and Austin Stidham of Stephenville; tackle Braden Spivey of China Spring; cornerbacks Caden Cowan and Cole Stanley of Stephenville; safeties Trace Morrison of Stephenville and JaVon Iglehart of La Vega; utility player Coy Eakin of Stephenville; kicker Ian Chavez of La Vega; and snapper Luke Gregory of Gatesville.

The Lions finished the season with an 11-2 mark, 3-1 in District 5-4A Division I, and reached th