Vanderbilt was selected as the top seed for the 64-team Division I college baseball tournament Monday.

The Commodores (51-11), the Southeastern Conference regular-season and tournament champions, will host one of 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals that begin Friday.

Vanderbilt, led by star left-hander David Price and slugging third baseman Pedro Alvarez, was ranked No. 1 in various polls for the majority of the season and opens up against Austin Peay (39-20).

The other national seeds, in order, are: Rice (49-12), North Carolina (48-12), Texas (44-15), Arizona State (43-13), Florida State (47-11), Arkansas (41-19) and San Diego (43-16). As national seeds, those teams wonít have to face each other unless they make it to the College World Series.

All 16 of the host schools selected Sunday are No. 1 seeds in their regionals. The other top seeds are: Coastal Carolina (48-11), Long Beach State (37-18), Mississippi (37-23), Missouri (40-16), South Carolina (42-18), Texas A&M (44-16), Virginia (43-14) and Wichita State (49-19).

The winners of each regional will advance to the super regionals, played June 8-11. The eight winners of the super regionals will play in the College World Series, which starts June 15 in Omaha, Neb.

The Atlantic Coast Conference led the tournament field with seven berths. Joining North Carolina and Florida State are Clemson, Miami, North Carolina State, Virginia and Wake Forest.

The Big 12 had six teams, with Baylor, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma State and Texas A&M joining Texas.

After getting eight berths last season and nine in 2005 and 2004, the SEC got just five teams. Itís the fewest for the conference since getting four berths in 1994 ó five years before the NCAA expanded the tournament from 48 to 64 teams.

Miami (36-22) is making its 35th straight tournament appearance to extend its NCAA record. Meanwhile, Brown (27-19) is making its first appearance after winning the Ivy League title.

Defending national champion Oregon State (38-17) received an at-large bid, and looks to join Texas (1949-50), Southern California (1970-74), Stanford (1987-88) and Louisiana State (1996-97) as repeat winners. The Beavers are the No. 3 seed in the Charlottesville, Va., regional, and will open against Big East tournament champion Rutgers (41-19).

Wofford (30-31) is the only team in the field with a losing record after winning the Southern Conference championship for the first time in school history. The Terriers open against South Carolina in the Columbia regional.

Georgia Tech, Tennessee, Oklahoma, the College of Charleston and Gonzaga were among the final teams considered.