Bulletin Staff Report

Eleven members of the District 6-2A runner-up Early Lady Horns softball team earned all-district recognition, while the sixth-place Bangs Lady Dragons had four players voted on to the roster.

The Lady Horns (18-14, 11-3), who strung together 10 consecutive district victories before dropping their final three games of the season, saw two players receive superlative awards.

Senior first baseman Mallory Drew was tabbed the co-offensive player of the year along with Jim Ned senior Tana Thomas. Also, Lady Horn freshman pitcher Janna Allen was selected the districtís newcomer of the year.

A pair of Lady Horns landed on the first team in senior utility player Charly Conley and freshman third baseman Tylene Middleton. They were joined on the first team by Bangs (4-10 in district) junior pitcher Shiloh Morris.

Second-team selections for Early included freshman catcher Tresta Donahoo, junior shortstop Angela Sanderson and sophomore center fielder Kayla Dickerson.

Receiving honorable mention for the Lady Dragons were Shayla James, Molly Davis and LeCrecia Apple. Lady Horns on the honorable mention list included Holly Kuykendall, Whitney Holleman, Sarah Russell and Julia Loudermilk.

The rest of the districtís superlative awards featured Coleman senior Lauren Golson being named MVP; Jim Ned sophomore Talena Tippett was voted pitcher of the year; Wall sophomore Ashlei Gesch got the nod as defensive player of the year; Coleman sophomore Eden Duqette was chosen utility player of the year; and Jim Nedís Trilece Weyman received coach of the year honors.

Listed below is the complete 6-2A all-district roster and the honorable mention selections for Bangs and Early:

Most Valuable Player

Lauren Golson, Sr., Coleman

Pitcher of the Year

Talena Tippett, Soph., Jim Ned

Offensive Players of the Year

Tana Thomas, Sr., Jim Ned; Mallory Drew, Sr. Early

Defensive Player of the Year

Ashlei Gesch, Soph., Wall

Newcomer of the Year

Janna Allen, Fr., Early

Utility Player of the Year

Eden Duquette, Soph., Coleman

Coach of the Year

Trilece Weyman, Jim Ned

First Team

Shiloh Morris, Jr., Bangs

Charly Conley, Sr., Early

Tylene Middleton, Fr., Early

Sam Wilson, Soph., Jim Ned

Jessica Latson, Sr., Jim Ned

Kaneesha Graves, Sr., Coleman

Carissa Zarate, Fr., Coleman

Megan Mikulik, Jr., Wall

Amber Perez, Sr., San Saba

Jeanna Crawford, Sr., Grape Creek

Jamie Wilson, Soph., Grape Creek

Bettie Jo Chambliss, Jr., Jim Ned

Tara King, Jr., Ballinger


Tresta Donahoo, Fr., Early

Angela Sanderson, Jr., Early

Kayla Dickerson, Soph., Early

Calea Turner, Soph., San Saba

Caty Manning, Sr., Grape Creek

Allyson Seider, Soph., Wall

Paige Weishuhn, Jr., Wall

Jessica Morales, Fr., Coleman

Amanda Brewer, Sr., Coleman

Courtney Frakes, Jr., Jim Ned

Jacie Frierson, Fr., Ballinger

Taylor Little, Jr., Wall

Honorable Mention

BANGS: Shayla James, LeCrecia Apple, Molly Davis

EARLY: Whitney Holleman, Sarah Russell, Julia Loudermilk, Holly Kuykendall