Bulletin Staff Report

The Six-Man Division II District 14 champion Zephyr Bulldogs dominated the all-district roster, receiving all five superlative awards and 24 selections overall.

Bulldog junior Jason Hughes was named both the district’s MVP and offensive player of the year.

Hughes compiled 1,727 yards rushing and 21 touchdowns to go along with 1,347 yards passing and 29 more scores.

In the season finale against Gustine last week, Hughes rushed for 202 yards and four scores while passing for 140 yards and three more touchdowns.

Fellow junior Cord Biddy was named the defensive player of the year. Biddy finished the year with 182 tackles, and 42 of those occurred during Zephyr’s two playoff games.

Sophomore Ryan Martin was tabbed the district’s newcomer of the year, while first-year head coach Landon Buffe was selected coach of the year after leading the Bulldogs on a seven-game win streak following a 1-3 start.

First-team offensive selections for Zephyr included Hughes at quarterback; Biddy at running back; senior Luke Creed at center; junior Ethan Fisher at receiver; senior Chris Newton at utility back; and Martin as the special teams player.

On the first-team defense from Zephyr were senior Chase Jackson at nose guard; senior Cody Simpson and junior Taylor Hart along the defensive line; Biddy at linebacker; Creed at cornerback; Hughes at safety; and Martin as the utility player.

Bulldogs on the second-team offense included Simpson at center; Hart at tight end; and sophomore Eric Simpson at receiver.

The second-team defense featured Zephyr’s Newton at cornerback; Fisher at safety; and Eric Simpson as the utility player.

District runner-up Lohn finished with a dozen selections, followed by Blackwell with nine, Paint Rock with eight and Novice with six selections.

Zephyr (8-4) advanced to the state quarterfinals for the second year in a row and peaked at No. 8 in the sixmanfootball.com Division II state rankings.