Bulletin Staff Report

Ties can be found atop four of the six flights midway through the 2007 TexasBank Golf Classic, which is being hosted by the Brownwood Country Club. Ninety two-man teams are participating in this year’s 36-hole event, which wraps up later today.

Saturday’s low rounds — 10-under par 62s — were turned in by championship flight co-leaders Jeremy Alcorn and Scott McDaniel, and Mike Schulte and Manny Bhatka. Sitting one stroke back heading into today’s final 18 holes is the tandem of Frank Dietrich and Joe Don Slawson, who posted an opening round 63.

In president’s flight action, five teams share the lead following first-round scores of 66. Among the leaders are the teams of Walan Kite and Matt Giles, Bob Bitters and Kennon McLean, Michael Healer and Chicken Thomas, Derek Boscamp and Greg Denison, and Alan Grider and Rex Mayes.

Three more teams are just one shot back following Saturday 67s. That group consists of Phil Fenton and C. Norman Tinkler, David Leach and Mike Pool, and Craig Auldridge and Chip Head.

Four teams shared the best round in the first flight Saturday with scores of 67. Heading into today’s action the teams of Jason Cunningham and Matt Glenn, Mac Hughes and Bart Johnson, Terry Eckermann and Ricky Haynie, and Jaime Hernandez and Charlie Thomas are leading the pack.

Poised just one stroke behind the leaders are the teams of Don Bird and Scott Bird, along with Denny Cheney and Dennis Sokol. Both teams shot 68s Saturday.

The final first-round tie was in the third flight where the teams of Bob Rodgers and Neal Gilbert, along with Jeff Loudermilk and Stephen Heers, carded rounds of 71. Sitting one stroke back following opening 72s were the teams of Jerry Lancaster and Scott Lancaster, along with Don Jones and Tommy Corbell.

In second flight action, Earl Harriss and Greg Harriss were alone in first place following a round of 64. One stroke behind was the twosome of Jerry Don Gleaton and Tim Goodwin.

Joe Martin and Dana Smith also owned a one-stroke lead over Bill Hamilton and Robert Connaway at the midway point in the fourth flight. Martin and Smith posted a 73, while Hamilton and Connaway shot a 74.

Complete final results from the 2007 TexasBank Golf Classic will appear in Monday’s edition of the Bulletin. Listed below are the complete first-round results:

The 2007 TexasBank Golf Classic

Saturday, June 9 - Sunday, June 10

at the Brownwood Country Club


t1. Jeremy Alcorn-Scott McDaniel 62

t1. Mike Schulte-Manny Bhatka 62

3. Frank Dietrich-Joe Don Slawson 63

4. Jeff Hamm-Nathan Wilson 64

5. Richard Pringle-David May 65

t6. Chris Hall-Mike Chapman 66

t6. Wayne Herring-John Locklin 66

8. Rody McElreath-Colby Watts 67

9. Tom Hale-Jeff Low 69


t1. Walan Kite-Matt Giles 66

t1. Bob Bitters-Kennon McLean 66

t1. Michael Healer-Chicken Thomas 66

t1. Derek Boscamp-Greg Denison 66

t1. Alan Grider-Rex Mayes 66

t6. Phil Fenton-C. Norman Tinkler 67

t6. David Leach-Mike Pool 67

t6. Craig Auldridge-Chip Head 67

t9. Sean McAlister-Kelly Blackburn 68

t9. Bryce Harris-Wendell Olson 68

t9. John Watson-Leo Underwood 68

12. Richard Davis-Frank Allgood 69

13. Jay Timmins-Ray West 70

14. Randy Oehrlein-Tim Oehrlein 71

t15. Robert Campbell-Boots Elliott 71

t15. Jon Virostek-Ronald Hill 72

17. Trent Tidwell-Jody Glasgow 73


t1. Jason Cunningham-Matt Glenn 67

t1. Mac Hughes-Bart Johnson 67

t1. Terry Eckermann-Ricky Haynie 67

t1. Jaime Hernandez-Charlie Thomas 67

t5. Don Bird-Scott Bird 68

t5. Denny Cheney-Dennis Sokol 68

t7. Ronnie Wade-Robert Mieras 69

t7. Charles Cassle-David Shoemaker 69

t7. M.C. Yocham-Mike Watson 69

10. Brad Shugart-Randy Smith 70

t11. Craig Sebek-Boyd Sharp 71

t11. Mike Malone-Paul Burleson 71

t11. Cliff Southard-Will Flaa 71

t11. Will Carrier-Andy Gill 71

15. Ken Walker- Scott Anderson 72

t16. Dave Olhausen-Mike Hall 73

t16. Robert Henry Johnson-Bryan Boyd 73

18. Charlie Quick-Darwin Boscamp 75


1. Earl Harriss-Greg Harriss 64

2. Jerry Don Gleaton-Tim Goodwin 65

3. Pete Pearce-Chance Pearce 66

4. Tommy Carr-Rickey Carr 68

t5. Johnny Tedford-Bobby Seale 69

t5. Doran Lemke-David Markham 69

t5. Greg Dodds-Jeff Roberts 69

t8. Jerry Hunter-Buddie Lasater 70

t8. Jim Gafken-Adam Gafken 70

t10. Steve Fryar-Moses Cisneros 71

t10. Paul Underwood-Terry Olson 71

t10. David Stroud-Bryan Raschke 71

13. Jason Chapman-Elmer Chapman 73

14. Frank Bridges-Stuart Bridges 75

15. Charles Pattillo-Buddy Reynolds 78

16. Chuck Jahant-Scott Nabers 84


t1. Bob Rodgers-Neal Gilbert 71

t1. Jeff Loudermilk-Stephen Heers 71

t3. Jerry Lancaster-Scott Lancaster 72

t3. Don Jones-Tommy Corbell 72

5. Bob Bryant-Benny Wilson 73

t6. Rick Shaffer-Randy Chiles 74

t6. Dennis Simpson-Terry Igou 74

t6. Ron Wulf-James Young 74

t9. Mike Magnotti-Ronnie Brown 75

t9. Tom Bowles-Rocky Garcia 75

t9. Jack Smith-Cody Smith 75

t12. Bill Murrell-Buddy Newsome 76

t12. Bob Wood-Phil Fox 76

t12. Walt Williams-Niknik Wilson 76


1. Joe Martin-Dana Smith 73

2. Bill Hamilton-Robert Connaway 74

3. Bob Boatright-Corkey Solomon 75

4. Brad Thornton-Earl Thornton 76

t5. Charles McDonald-Sean McDonald 78

t5. Gregg Rice-Norm Rogers 78

t5. Jim Petre-Gregg McMurtrie 78

t5. Izzy Templeton-Ross Neel 78

t9. Ben Cornish-Jerry Lee 79

t9. Bill Pringle-Russell Merket 79

t11. Doug Johnston-Keven Low 80

t11. Bobby Waller-Steve Christopher 80

13. Bob Brincefield-Bill Crist 81

14. Mike Walker-Joe Thompson 82

15. John Chisholm-Chris Monson 83

16. Paul Waldrop-David Grimsley 85