Bulletin Staff Report

    Two Brownwood Lions were selected to the Associated Press Class 3A all-state football team, which was released on Tuesday.

    Junior Derek Longoria was voted the first-team punter after averaging 41.8 yards per punt with a long of 55 yards and 11 kicks coming to rest inside the opponents’ 20 yard line.

    Senior defensive end Joseph Henry received honorable mention after tallying 91 tackles, four sacks and three fumble recoveries during the first 10 games of the season.

    The Associated Press all-state team is based on regular season performances only.

    Sixteen players from District 2-3A were recognized, though the all-district roster has not been revealed. All-district lists cannot be released until all teams have concluded their seasons, and Graham is playing Carthage for the Division II state title at 6 p.m. Saturday at SMU.

    Graham led 2-3A with a district best seven all-state honors, while Abilene Wylie and Snyder each had three players voted to the roster. Brownwood followed with two selections and Breckenridge with one. Sweetwater did not have a player make the team.

    The Lions posted a 10-3 record, earned their first district championship since 2003 and made their deepest postseason run since 2006 during the 2009 campaign.

Associated Press Class 3A

All-State Football Selections


Darian Godfrey, QB, Gilmer


Jacoby Alexander, DL, Van


Offensive Line

    • BEAU BLAIR, Gilmer, Sr. — Graded 94 percent, 88 pancakes

    • SAM FORRER, Argyle, Sr. — Graded 95 percent, 20 big hits, 1 sack allowed; team averaged 5.4 rushing yards per carry

    • JACOB JENKINS, Gilmer, Sr. — Graded 92 percent, 55 pancakes

    • MATT KIRKLAND, Pittsburg, Sr. — Graded 96 percent, 37 pancakes, no sacks allowed; had 2,000-yard rusher, 1,700-yard passer

    • HARRY WHITE, Pittsburg, Sr. — Graded 94 percent, 32 pancakes, no sacks allowed; had 2,000-yard rusher, 1,700-yard passer


    • TRISTAN HOLT, Gilmer, Sr. — 672 receiving yards, 11 TDs; 3 rushing TDs; 5 return TDs (3 punt, 2 kickoff)

    • BRANDON WILKERSON, La Grange, Jr. — 70-1,166 receiving, 19 TDs


    • DARIAN GODFREY, Gilmer, Sr. — 187-of-256 passing, 2,772 yards, 35 TDs, 5 INT; 382 rushing yards, 13 TDs

Running Backs

    • TED BURNS, Pittsburg, Sr. — 2,005 yards, 31 TDs; 22-234 receiving, 1 TD

    • BROAM HART, Alvarado, Sr. — 1,768 yards, 15 TDs; 12-3A MVP

    • JOEL ROCKMORE, Lake Worth, Sr. — 2,074 yards, 35 TDs; 11-3A MVP


    • CHAD HEDLUND, Argyle, Jr. — 10-of-16 FGs (long of 50, 4 over 40), 39-of-42 PATs



    • JACOBY ALEXANDER, Van, Sr. — 85 tackles, 32 TFL, 20 sacks, 29 QB pressures, 2 fumbles caused

    • DAVID JOHNSON, Argyle, Sr. — 77 tackles, 24 TFL, 4 fumbles caused, 5 sacks; 9-3A MVP

    • TREVOR OWENS, Monahans, Sr. — 109 tackles, 6 sacks, 12 TFL, 3 fumbles caused, 4 pass breakups, 25 QB pressures

    • HARPER SCOFIELD, Dalhart, Jr. — 92 tackles, 8 sacks, 3 fumbles caused, 3 fumbled recovered, 1 blocked punt returned for TD


    • GREG ATTAWAY, Pittsburg, Sr. — 147 tackles, 2 fumbles caused, 3 fumbles recovered, 3 sacks, 3 pass breakups

    • CARLTON BRYANT, Kennedale, Sr. — 138 tackles, 6 fumbled recovered, 3 fumbles caused, 3 pass breakups, 1 INT

    • KESNICK JONES, Navasota, Jr. — 138 tackles (59 solo), 21 TFL, 2 fumbles caused, 4 pass breakups


    • DARREN BEAVERS, Jasper, Sr. — 106 tackles, 4 TFL, 6 INTs, 9 pass breakups, 3 fumbles caused, 4 fumbles recovered

    • CEDRIC MCGILL, Jasper, Sr. — 81 tackles, 7 TFL, 8 INTs, 12 pass breakups, 2 TD returns

    • ERIC NELSON, Fischer Canyon Lake, Sr. — 9 INTs, 73 tackles, 2 fumbles caused, 2 fumbles recovered

    • KYLE PARKER, Bridgeport, Sr. — 8 INTs, 72 tackles, 5 sacks


    • DEREK LONGORIA, Brownwood, Jr. — 41.8 average on 32 punts, long of 55, 11 inside 20



    Robert Blackmon, Burkburnett, Sr.; Cutter Clinton, Carthage, Sr.; Kendrick Henderson, Carthage, Sr.; Bryndyn Hinnrichs, Argyle, Sr.; Javius Townsend, Dallas Madison, Sr.


    Bradley Miller, Sealy, Sr.; Joel Witwer, Huffman-Hargrave, Jr.


    Case McCoy, Graham, Sr.

Running Backs

    Doug Gentry, Mexia, Jr.; Trent Jackson, Cuero, Soph.; Kysan Woolverton, Caldwell, Sr.


    Austin Gray, Abilene Wylie, Sr.



    Dimitric Brown, Jasper, Sr.; Logan David, Rockdale, Sr.; Jesus Bubba Lopez, FW Carter-Riverside, Sr.; Alex Wallace, Burnet, Sr.


    Caleb Lavey, Celina, Sr.; Landon Lock, Gainesville, Soph.; Shane Savant, Jasper, Sr.


    Hubbell Allen, Graham, Sr.; Lamarcus Banks, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, Sr.; Quade Stubblefield, Burnet, Sr.; Joel Witwer, Huffman-Hargrave, Jr.


    Kye Hildreth, Navasota, Sr.



    Anthony Booher, Kennedale; Aaron Boucher, West Columbia; Le’ Raven Clark, Rockdale; Bradley Crenshaw, Mexia; Scott Dobbins, Burkburnett; Caleb England, Iowa Park; Anthony Gomez, Canton; Jacob Hardin, Yoakum; Jacob Hunter, Gatesville; Cody Kenny, Graham; Rance Layton, Seminole; Dai Le, Iowa Park; Mac Long, Edna; Richard Onzures, Midland Greenwood; Mark Vickers, Argyle.


    Solomon Biscarro, Van Alstyne; Jacob Carranco, Lyford; Jalen Claiborne, Carthage; Roy Denbow, Canton; Dale Fabacher, Ingleside; Dylan Fulford, Graham; Daleon Robinson, Mexia; Anthony Taylor, Snyder; Ty Taylor, Glen Rose; Domanick Turner, Palestine Westwood.


    Tyler Arndt, Cuero; Brian Bell, China Spring; Dillon Chafin, Burnet; Trae Davis, Mexia; Johnny Esparza, Lyford; Matt Preston, Abilene Wylie.

Running Backs

    Cameron Bailey, Graham; Trey Hights, Yoakum; Shane Hodge, Perryton; Reggie Pegram, Dallas Madison; Jose Romero, Celina; Matt Santos, Poteet; Brock Taylor, Madisonville; Juan Williams, Prosper; Jamell Woodard, Sweeny.


    Mark Burfeind, Midland Greenwood; Adon Oliveras, Gilmer; Brian Vasquez, La Feria.



    Lorrenzo Barnes, Burkburnett; Kentrevious Brantley, Carthage; Luis Castro, Gilmer; Beau Culver, Sinton; Mario Edwards, Prosper; Joseph Henry, Brownwood; Eduardo Hernandez, Ingleside; Tre’Kevian McKee, Carthage; Zach Neely, Prosper; Robert Miller, Abilene Wylie; Jesse Quiroga, Lyford; Daniel Scott, Bridgeport; DeShun Williams, Carthage.


    John Brown, Midland Greenwood; Trevor David, Rio Hondo; Kobi Dawn, Texarkana Liberty-Eylau; Marcus Ferree, Palacios; Trevor Gardner, Lake Worth; Jacob Hardin, Yoakum; Tanner Hoffman, Cuero; Ethan Hiser, Graham; Maverick Hunter, Rio Hondo; Taylor Letterman, Burnet; Cass Mitchell, Sealy; Malachi Naef, Burkburnett; Ricky Robledo, Monahans; Ethan Shadden, Whitesboro; Tony Silva, Snyder; Jake Sizelove, Argyle; Kendall Thompson, Carthage; Deremy Tijerina, Raymondville; Mikey Wilson, Gilmer.


    Demarcus Armstrong, Pittsburg; Jurase Brown, Commerce; Storm Griffin, Argyle; Howard Harris, Madisonville; Jake Holguin, Perryton; Keithen Hughes, Seminole; Seth Jamison, Sealy; Jake Meeks, Argyle; Jeffrey Proctor, Mexia; Shade Roemisch, Snyder; Brian Sides, Graham; Jose Sierra, Lyford; Braylon Webb, Gilmer.


    Mark Burfeind, Midland Greenwood; David Howard, Breckenridge; Wade Roark, Monahans.