Bulletin Staff Report

After being snubbed entirely last year, three Brownwood Lions were selected to the 2007 Associated Press Class 4A All-State football team, which was released Wednesday.

Landing on the second team were senior defensive tackle Justin Ragsdale and junior punter Shelby Miller. Junior safety Kenny Vaccaro received honorable mention as a defensive back.

Ragsdale chalked up 87 tackles, which was tied with two other Lions for second on the team. Ragsdale also finished with a team-high six sacks, six pressures and eight passes batted down.

Miller averaged 39.9 yards on 31 punts this season. In four games, Miller averaged better than 40 yards per punt and against Abilene Cooper he averaged 52 yards per punt on three kicks. Several of his punts also pinned the Lions’ opponents deep in their own territory.

Vaccaro posted a team-high 103 tackles for the Lions with four interceptions and four fumble recoveries. He also broke up six passes and blocked a pair of kicks.

Brownwood finished the season 6-4 and tied for third place in District 16-4A. The Lions lost the tiebreaker, however, which left them out of the playoffs for the first time since 2001.

The Lions faced a dozen Class 4A all-state performers this season, including five each from district rivals Copperas Cove and Waco, and one apiece from Burnet and Midway.

Making the roster from Copperas Cove were first-team junior offensive lineman Anthony Mackey, first-team senior running back Troy Vital, second-team senior quarterback Robert Griffin, honorable mention offensive lineman Geoff Neal and honorable mention junior linebacker Tanner Brock.

Waco picks included first-team senior offensive lineman Nicholas Johnson, second-team senior running back Jarred Salubi, honorable mention senior defensive lineman Quentin Horn, honorable mention junior defensive lineman Andrew Weaver and honorable mention senior defensive back Victor Johnson.

Burnet senior kicker Ross Evans landed on the first team, while Midway junior running back John Hubert was an honorable mention choice.

The Associated Press All-State team is voted on by sports editors at newspapers throughout the state. The selections are based on the regular season performances of the list of candidates.