Bulletin Staff Report

The Howard Payne University athletic department conducted its annual Coachesí Awards Presentation Dinner on Thursday night as 30 Howard Payne student-athletes were honored.

Awards presented included the Yellow Jacket Awards, Four-Year Letterman Awards, Menís and Womenís Scholar-Athlete Awards, the Tami Pattillo Memorial Award and the Paul J. Cunningham Memorial Award.

The Menís and Womenís Scholar-Athlete Awards are considered the most prestigious recognition offered at Howard Payne. The purpose of the award is to recognize the student-athlete, male and female, with the highest GPA.

Claiming this yearís honors were softball player Jill McLaughlin and football player Michael Rudewick.

The Tami Pattillo Memorial Award honors the memory and athletic and academic accomplishments of a female athlete who was exceptional in the classroom and on the basketball court, while battling the diabetes that took her life too soon.

This yearís award, presented to the female athlete who most represents the HPU spirit as chosen by the university coaching staff, went to Molly Buker.

The Paul J. Cunningham Memorial Award is an effort to perpetuate the memory of a bright, talented young athlete who represented the highest qualities of the student-athlete.

This award, given to the Howard Payne University male athlete who best represents these qualities as voted on by the university coaching staff, went to Michael Rudewick.

The Yellow Jacket Awards are given to student-athletes who are outstanding athletes and their ability as a leader contributes greatly to their team. The award suggests leadership and effort that is above and beyond, and it also suggests respect from oneís teammates.

This yearís recipients were Brandon Tolbert in football; Patricia Brown in volleyball; Kendrick Johnson in menís basketball; Molly Buker and Heather Hohertz in womenís basketball; Jill McLaughlin in softball; Jordan Beard in menís track; Susanna Maxvill in womenís track; Chris Sutton in menís tennis; Susanna Street in womenís tennis; Dennis Benitez in menís soccer; Ashli McCutchen in womenís soccer; Kasey Black in baseball; and student athletic trainer Kevin Hale.

Four-Year Letterman Awards are presented to student-athletes who have played all four years of their collegiate career at Howard Payne University.

The HPU athletic department recognized the following student-athletes for their dedication and commitment to their sport:

Football ó David Guerrero, Brandon Tolbert, Marcus Hart, Daryl Jones, Michael Rudewick and Chris Irby

Volleyball ó Sandra Fish, Destiny Barry

Menís Basketball ó Sean Wheeler, Kendrick Johnson

Womenís Basketball ó Molly Buker, Heather Hohertz

Softball ó Chinesia Rhinehart

Menís Tennis ó Ricky Gonzalez

Womenís Tennis ó Cathleen Touisithiphonexay, Stephanie Ortiz

Baseball ó Josh Holmes, Ryan Kunz

Womenís Track ó Elizabeth Ramsey