Eight Longhorns, six Dragons earn 6-2A all-district basketball honors

DERRICK STUCKLY BROWNWOOD BULLETIN derrick.stuckly@brownwoodbulletin.com

Eight Early Longhorns and six Bangs Dragons were honored as the 6-2A all-district boys basketball roster was released on Monday.

Each school was represented in the superlative awards as Bangs junior center Dalton Johnson was selected the district’s defensive player of the year, while Early junior center Jonathan Moore shared newcomer of the year accolades with Brady sophomore guard Keyshawn Eagle.

Landing on the first team from Early were senior guards Chase Riker and Josh Benson, joined by Bangs posts Josh Truelove, a senior, and Keegan Hall, a junior.

Making the second team from Early was senior guard Bubba Reno, while Bangs senior guard Frankie Smith received the same distinction.

Receiving honorable mention for the Dragons were juniors Willie Calvin and Brayden James, along with Longhorn seniors Brady King, Jakob Morgan, Colin Walker and Jake Fisher.

Earning the remainder of the superlative awards were district co-MVPs Tre Chitsey and Brent Matschek of Wall, offensive player of the year Tanner Locklear of Jim Ned and coach of the year Trey Watts of Wall.

Comprising the rest of the first team were Cord Norris of Coleman, Luke Dacy and Brady Clark of Wall, Lance Sauceda and Tanner Clifton from Ballinger and B.J. Hollis from Brady.

Rounding out the second-team choices were Ballinger’s Brandon Hunter, Brady’s Darrin Connell, Coleman’s Royce Harris and Jaquan Hemphill, Grape Creek’s Michael Medrano and Robert Aly, Jim Ned’s Braden Smith and Wall’s Brock Pettiet and Jacob Reid.

The Longhorns and Dragons shared second place in the final District 6-2A standings behind Wall, with Bangs winning a seeding playoff game at the Brownwood Coliseum. The Dragons (18-8), under the direction of head coach Mark Kyle, advanced to the second round of the playoffs while the Longhorns (19-9), led by head coach Nadir Dalleh, were eliminated in the opening round.