Seven Lady Dragons, five Lady Horns earn all-district basketball accolades


Seven Bangs Lady Dragons and five Early Lady Horns were selected to the recently released 6-2A girls basketball all-district team.

First-team choices included Bangs’ Kinsie Ward and Kady Kyle and Early’s Janae Williams.

Landing on the second team were Early’s K.J. Elkins and Bangs’ Charly Lipsey.

Receiving honorable mention were Liz Pettit, Callie Sprowls, Haley Pitts and Raelee Francois of Bangs, as well as Andee Jo Rose, Aspen Escamilla and Kassidy Allen of Early.

Superlative award winners in 6-2A were MVP Jennah Coffman of Jim Ned, co-offensive MVPs M’Lee Graham of Jim Ned and Bobbi Chitsey of Wall, defensive MVP Allie Dierschke of Wall, newcomer of the year Maddi Chitsey of Wall and co-coaches of the year Hunter Cooley of Jim Ned and Tate Lombard of Wall.

Rounding out the first team were Ballinger’s Taylor Bowman, Jim Ned’s Blythe Weatherly, Maggie Branch and Halle Cooley, Wall’s Sadie Brest and Stella Doyle and Coleman’s Tiana Thomas.

Comprising the remainder of the second team were Brady’s Leslie Stewart and Chyna Washington, Jim Ned’s Landry Allen and Rylee Crawford, Ballinger’s Jessica Good and Chelsea Tolliver, Wall’s Kelsey Walling and Coleman’s Shalia Bishop.

The Lady Dragons (17-14) finished third in district behind eventual state champion Wall and runner-up Jim Ned, and advanced to the second round of the playoffs. The Lady Horns (5-20) missed the playoffs.