Final teams to join Lions at 7-on-7 state tournament being determined Saturday

Cory Richardson (right) and the Brownwood Lions clinched their 15th straight berth in the 7-on-7 state tournament June 7 at Glen Rose. The final two slots in the 64-team Division II will be filled Saturday as the final state qualifying tournament of the summer is being held at Arlington Bowie.

The Brownwood Lions have known since June 7 that they would be part of the 64-team field at the 7-on-7 Division II state tournament in College Station on July 10-11. By the end of the day today, the complete field will be known as the final state qualifying tournament of the summer is taking place in the Metroplex.

The “Last Chance SQT” is being hosted by Arlington Bowie, where the final two vacancies for the state event will be filled. The 16 teams vying for the final two spots are Boyd, Grandview, Fort Worth All Saints and West in Pool A; Bells, Ferris, Lampasas and Crandall in Pool B; Gatesville, Mineral Wells, Alto and Kountze in Pool C; and Brock, Nevada Community, Pantego Christian and Crowell in Pool D.

The four pool winners advance to the semifinals, and those victors earn state berths. Division II consists of schools Class 4A and smaller, under the UIL’s new classification system.

Along with the Lions, other teams who have qualified for the state tournament — and the events at which they qualified — include Altair Rice and East Bernard (Altair SQT), Crockett and Navasota (Lexington SQT), Burnet and China Spring (McLennan County SQT), Celina and Princeton (Princeton SQT), Dublin and Stephenville (Brownwood SQT), Big Spring and Pecos (Crane SQT), McGregor and Robinson (McGregor SQT), Rockdale and Sealy (Navasota SQT), Chapel Hill and Kaufman (Bullard SQT), Houston Kinkaid and Fort Bend Christian (Houston SQT), Boerne and Lorena (Gatesville SQT), Graham and Addison Trinity Christian (Wichita Falls SQT), Prairiland and Waskom (Mount Vernon SQT), Booker and Levelland (Wellington SQT), Argyle and Abilene Wylie (Argyle SQT), Gilmer and Plano Prestonwood (Commerce SQT), Glen Rose (Glen Rose SQT), Mexia and Fairfield (Robinson SQT), Wimberley and Geronimo Navarro (Wimberley SQT), La Grange and Taylor (Burnet SQT), Melissa and Pilot Point (Celina SQT), Diboll and Sabine (Gilmer SQT), Shepherd and Stafford (Hitchcock SQT), Cuero and Goliad (Palacios SQT), Houston Episcopal and Houston St. Pius X (St. Pius X SQT), Canton and Sweetwater (Stephenville SQT), Marion and Thorndale (San Antonio SQT), Dallas Episcopal and Palmer (Boyd SQT), Eastland and Quanah (Abilene SQT), Brady and Sonora (Sonora SQT), and La Villa and Rockport (Weslaco SQT).

The Lions have posted a 2-5 record against state qualifiers they have faced this summer — splitting two games with Stephenville, defeating Palmer, falling to Boerne and Abilene Wylie once and losing twice to Dublin.

The 16 four-team pools for the state tournament will be revealed after the completion of the final SQT. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the 32-team championship bracket, while the bottom two teams will compete in the 32-team consolation bracket.

Brownwood won the 7-on-7 Division II state championship in 2010.